Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

You don't remember. They won't let you forget. 

The second compelling psychological thriller from Mary Torjussen. Twisty, thought-provoking and completely gripping, this is perfect for fans of I See You and The Girl on the Train

How can you hide your mistakes when you don't know what they are? 

Gemma, a stressed mother and businesswoman, wishes her life was just a little simpler. A networking event in London looks the ideal chance to get away. And a new client seems like perfect company when he joins Gemma for an innocent dinner. But the next day Gemma is plunged into a twisted nightmare she can't control. Secrets both past and present force her to confront the truth of the girl she used to be.... 

©2018 Mary Torjussen (P)2018 Headline Publishing Group Limited

Critic reviews

"Torjussen is one to watch." (Gillian McAllister on Gone Without a Trace)

What listeners say about The Girl I Used to Be

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    21
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good twists but I predicted two easily.

I enjoyed 'Gone without a Trace' by the same author and although this started off in a similar 'page turning' way, I found that I had correctly predicted two of the major plot twists pretty easily so was a bit disappointed. Still worth a listen though.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not her best

Not great writing, not great narration and a bit dull. Not sure why, as actually the storyline was quite good.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Oh do stop whinging

I have read many reviews that ask the pointless stupid question that goes something like: ‘if you could sum this book up in three words what would they be’? Well if I had to sum this up in three words they would be: Tedious, boring, obvious. Info dumping, poor writing and too many ‘saids’ make this book tiresome to read in the extreme. Lucy Price-Lewis does her best but please, please let this book get better. I’m only on chapter 3 and already I’m tired of it.