Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

I’m so worried. You aren’t safe in that apartment! You have to get out. Before it’s too late....

When Rachel moves into a new apartment with her young daughter, Lily, it’s with a huge sense of relief. After escaping an abusive marriage, this perfect downtown fourth-floor rental, within minutes from the lake, feels like the new beginning the two of them deserve.

It’s a place to call home. A place for them to grow together. A place for them to heal. And, as Lily starts at a nearby elementary school and Rachel begins to develop feelings for her neighbor, Alex, who lives just down the hall, she dares to hope that their life is looking up.

But soon handwritten letters begin to arrive for someone called Annie. Alex says she was just the tenant who lived there before, who moved out one day without a word. Tentatively Rachel opens the first letter, intending to return it to the sender.

But the note says: "Annie. I’m so worried. You aren’t safe in that apartment! You have to get out. Before it’s too late."

Something happened to Annie. And Rachel is not nearly as safe as she thinks she is....

A totally gripping thriller, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Shari Lapena, and Gillian Flynn.

©2022 Laura Wolfe (P)2022 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Girl Before Me

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for susieq
  • susieq
  • 03-05-22

One of the best books I have read recently

Good characters and plot. Excel
Long narrator. Kept you wandering and thinking. Trying to be one step ahead of the many possible suspects.

1 person found this helpful