Listen free for 30 days

The Gift of Happiness

Narrated by: Penny Andrews
Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The beautiful new story from the best-selling author of The Little Village of Happiness. Perfect for fans of Sarah Morgan, Carole Matthews and Debbie Johnson. 

This December, Ruby Marlowe is relocating everything she owns to the pretty seaside village of Happiness. With her best friend Willow already there, and a heartbreaking past she’d rather forget, Ruby jumped at the offer of a cosy cottage and a fresh start. But she wasn’t the only one.... The last person Ruby expects to find in Happiness is her summer fling, the gorgeous Jacob Harrington. 

Falling in love again is something Ruby has vowed never to do. But Jacob is determined to change her mind. As the snow begins to fall, can Jacob convince Ruby that love is worth the risk? And will Ruby accept the gift of happiness that Jacob is offering her before it’s too late?

©2019 Holly Martin (P)2019 W. F. Howes Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Irritating narration

Very thin story x narrated in a very thin voice x what a let down x

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

sweet book, distracting narrator!

This is a sweet book, with a lovely story. But, and I hope this doesn’t sound unkind, the narrator grated on me, and it felt very forced, which took away from my enjoyment.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Trite

This is the first Audible book out of nearly 100 recordings, and probably the 3rd of several thousand books I have read, that I cannot finish. Life is too short. There is nothing to recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic return to the village of Happiness

I loved the continuation of Willow and Andrew's story and for Ruby and Jacob to meet again in a wonderful backdrop of the village and at Christmas all set for a great story!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good Story , awful narrator,

enjoy Story nice romantic read with festive atmosphere , narrator voice was hard to listen to , so I would recommend you read book rather than listen Overall enjoyable

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Christmassy tale

A nice festive read. Rather predictable but enjoyable none the less. Let down a bit by the narration which was somehow a bit annoying!