Listen free for 30 days

  • The German Mother

  • By: Debbie Rix
  • Narrated by: Stephanie Lane
  • Length: 15 hrs and 27 mins
  • 5.0 out of 5 stars (4 ratings)

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
The German Mother cover art

The German Mother

By: Debbie Rix
Narrated by: Stephanie Lane
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £19.00

Buy Now for £19.00

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Italian Girls cover art
The Secret Midwife cover art
The Glovemaker's Daughter cover art
All That Lingers cover art
The Postcard cover art
The German Wife cover art
The Secret Letter cover art
Darkness Falls cover art
The Midwives' War cover art
The Girl Who Escaped cover art
The Doctor’s Daughter cover art
The Viennese Dressmaker cover art
The Stockport Girls cover art
Red Mistress cover art
All the Courage We Have Found cover art
Conspiracy of Lies cover art

Summary

A missing child. A mother’s heartbreaking journey.

Germany, 1941: I stroke the blonde curl away from my daughter’s face, and my heart swells. I never imagined having children, and I never thought I’d love someone this much. Clara is the most precious thing to me. I whisper to her that I will do everything I can to keep her safe.

Before the war began, I had everything–an attentive husband, three adorable children, and the perfect house. But all that changed in an instant. 

My beautiful Clara, with her blue eyes and porcelain features, started having fits. I haven’t been able to sleep properly since they started, because I know children with illnesses like hers are being stolen away in the night.

I refuse to give my little girl up. She should be with her family. I can’t bear the thought of her being taken from me. 

My husband, influenced by his connections high up in the Nazi Party, says we have to tell the truth and follow the rules. I beg him to help me protect her, but I don’t trust him. He’s changed so much from the man I once loved.

Then, I see a man in uniform outside my door. They’ve come for her.

My child is wrenched from our home, and I sink to the floor as she’s carried away.

But I vow to find her...no matter what it takes.

Inspired by true stories, this is a heart-wrenching novel about a mother's fighting for the survival of their children in the depths of World War II. Fans of Orphan Train, The Tattooist of Auschwitz, and My Name Is Eva will be utterly gripped by this beautiful, tragic historical novel.

©2023 Debbie Rix (P)2023 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The German Mother

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding Book!

From the start I felt I was part of this book I thought I was from the right in there and it was a real page turner.

More please!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!