Listen free for 30 days

The Forgotten Dead

Narrated by: Laurence Bouvard
Length: 11 hrs and 43 mins
4 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A thriller set in the dark underbelly of Europe, perfect for fans of I Am Pilgrim.

Into the darkness they fall....

Tarifa, Spain. A man's body washes up on the beach. No-one seems to care.

Patrick Cornwall is a highly acclaimed investigative journalist. His latest project: to uncover the plight of migrants trying to start new lives in Europe and to expose the corruption that runs to the highest levels of society.

Patrick's wife, Ally, is used to Patrick being out of contact. But she's just discovered she's pregnant, and she must track him down. Unable to reach him and starting to worry, she flies across the ocean to get answers.

Still unable to find him, Ally delves into the secrets Patrick was determined to expose and is drawn into an ever-deadlier web. Because in the dark underbelly of Europe, where lives are cheap, the perpetrators will stop at nothing to keep their sins hidden and their victims forgotten....

©2009 Tove Alsterdal, by agreement with Grand Agency; Translation copyright © Tiina Nunnally 2016 (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Without a doubt, she is one of our best crime writers right now. Or rather, in short, one of the best writers right now." (Gunilla Wedding, Norra Skåne)
"Has all the characteristics of the Scandinavian crime novel - the suspense, the literary quality, the critical view on society - but with a global perspective. The Swedish critics are right: this is an international thriller of the highest standard." (Liza Marklund)
"A captivating debut!" (Der Standard, Germany)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.