Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.99

Buy Now for £18.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

It is 1745, and the Jacobite rebellion is on the rise.

Ewen Cameron, a principled young Scottish Highlander, is destined and honoured to serve Bonnie Prince Charlie, the young Pretender, and to help the 'rightful King' ascend to the British throne.

Major Keith Windham is a career soldier with the English Army - seemingly the antithesis of Ewen. He is jaded, worldly and loyal to the Crown but, ultimately, an outsider.

Their fates are linked inextricably when a highland prophecy tells Ewen that the flight of a heron will predict five meetings with an Englishman who will cause him much harm but also render a great service.     

Ewen is sceptical, but the prophecy proves true when he meets Englishman Keith Windham - and a gripping tale of adventure, danger and true and lasting friendship is set into motion.

Both are men who are willing to die for their honour and their beliefs. Each is on an opposing side. But who will emerge the victor?

With action, historical adventure and lyrical descriptions of the Scottish Highlands, The Flight of the Heron is sure to appeal to fans of Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series and Peter May’s Lewis trilogy.

Public Domain (P)2021 Creative Content Ltd

Critic reviews

"An extraordinary and timeless tale, brought vividly to life by Peter Forbes's brilliant narration." (Peter May)

What listeners say about The Flight of the Heron

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen

first read this book many moons ago.I remember enjoying it but had no recollection of the story. I have so enjoyed listening to it being read so beautifully.and look forward to more. Thank you

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful.

I've been hoping for this book to be performed for years. Ewan's Cameron was I think my first ' adult ' crush and I have loved this and the following books for over 50 years. I t is beautifully and sympathetically read by Peter Forbes. A beautiful soft highland accent. Wonderful story , wonderfully read. An absolute joy. I'm only sorry that 5 stars is the most I can give it. Highly , highly recommended. And at last - after 50 years - I know how those beautiful Gaelic names and phrases should really sound. Now on to the next in the trilogy , which I've just bought.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book, well read.

I read this 40 years ago and loved it., always wanted to listen to it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Evocative and moving

I first read 'The flight of the heron' over 40 years ago, and the story gripped me then; and I have just finished listening to the audiobook, so sensitively read by Peter Forbes. The story of Ewen Cameron, the Jacobite uprising of 1745 and of his prophesied encounter with an English officer weaves fact and fiction together seamlessly, and is, in my opinion, a tour de force.

It was written in the 1920s and set then in the 18th century, so it is now itself a historical book, writing about history. Some might find the style a little dated, as a consequence, but it is admirably suited to the book and its examination of honour - a somewhat outdated notion - and what constitutes duty, and friendship, and obligation. It asks the question of how our choices are constrained by our characters - but also how our characters constrain our choices, too.

Listening to the story gives you another window on it, and gives a fresh view. Highly recommended.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jeffrey Megenhardt
  • Jeffrey Megenhardt
  • 16-07-21

narrator nailed it

The man does the different dialects of the characters so well, sometimes I forgot it was just him. Which, in turn, made the story all the more memorable.