Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £9.99

Buy Now for £9.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Twelve-year-old Moll Pecksniff wakes one night in the middle of the forest, lured there by a recurring nightmare - the one with the drums and the rattles and the masks. The Dreamsnatcher is waiting. He has already taken her dreams, and now he wants her life.

Because Moll is more important than she knows....

The Oracle Bones foretold that she and Gryff, a wildcat that has always been by her side, are the only ones who can fight back against the Dreamsnatcher's dark magic. Suddenly everything is at stake, and Moll is drawn into a world full of secrets, magic and adventure.

Catapult into this pause-resisting adventure from the author of Sky Song, perfect for fans of J.K. Rowling, Michelle Harrison and Eva Ibbotson.

©2015 Abi Elphinstone (P)2018 Simon & Schuster UK

Critic reviews

"Abi Elphinstone's glorious novels make you feel as if you're living the adventure yourself. They're pure adrenalin and joy." (Lauren St John, author of The White Giraffe)   

"Abi Elphinstone is proving to be a worthy successor to CS Lewis." (The Times

"Fast paced and full of charm." (Piers Torday, author of The Last Wild)

What listeners say about The Dreamsnatcher

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This should come with a warning

Very dark and graphic violence. Not suitable for children at all!! Loved her Everdark series but this is a different beast altogether. There should be a warning on this one, Amazon! I'm pretty upset that my children were exposed to this

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

8yr olds engaged

Some chapters were not suitable for bedtime and overactive imaginations, but my eight year boys really enjoyed the story.
They enjoyed the narration and content and have enjoyed this series.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Will captivate feisty 8-12 year olds, but...

I'm an adult but I work with kids. This was a great- like a more accessible Phillip Pullman.
For fans of Disney's Brave.

EXCEPT

I felt cheated by the end that isn't an end and I think the ending might disturb young audiences unnecessarily.

You could still have had a sequel without ruining the singularity of this. The plot is resolved but oh no, let's have the last two minutes reigniting all the fear and trauma again!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Outstanding, thrilling,incredible.

It was such a amazing story I loved it the story drew me in well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic.

I. Loved. It. I thought that it was amazing. I loved it so much I could die. I don't know else to explain it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Dreamsnatcher review Albert Anness

I thought this was an absolutely amazing story, it's dark story really craned my neck for more not checking the time, the narration was outstanding to me she really put lots of emotion into it capturing the characters perfectly, the story also goes into so much detail even at the smallest thing I can picture it as though I'm actually there seeming so believable that it has life giving it beauty, another thing I like about it is the characters they're all so likeable and relatable particularly Moll her cheeky slightly impatient but courageous and determined attitude makes her so relatable to many kids her age that she seems real even the villains were so brilliantly over the top, this story also shows that bravery and hope is the very thing that encourages you to put one foot in front of the other to take that risk because you care, having optimism even when things seem against you isn't wrong it takes courage and it's what keeps others going and that a strong person stands up for themselves but an even stronger person stands up for others I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested especially anyone who likes the magic genre of books (I will say this book actually reminds me a bit of the Harry Potter stories and the Narration reminds me of a YouTuber I like called Butterfly Coffee both other reasons I like it). This book also shows if I may quote Superman 'Even in the darkest times hope will shine through' and when we stick together we can accomplish anything for all our sakes.
'In fearful day, in raging night, with strong hearts full our souls ignite, when all seems lost in the war of light, look to the stars, for hope burns bright'- The blue lantern core oath- DC Comics.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The dreamsnatcher

My kids say it is a brill nightmarish book
Absolute best book though
Keeps my kids quiet for ages!!!!
Love audio lover

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

well done

well done. loved it. amazing. awesome
fantastic cool fun yea brilliant ideas best thing plum