Listen free for 30 days

The Diary

A Completely Addictive Psychological Thriller
Narrated by: Jasmine Blackborow
Length: 9 hrs and 59 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (23 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

"I know all your secrets, Lauren."

Lauren has spent years running away from her home town, her childhood, and the memories of her best friend, Hannah. Until the 10th anniversary of Hannah’s death forces her to return home and to the group of friends she abandoned there. It should be a quick visit, just so Lauren can pay her respects.

At home, Lauren finds Hannah’s old diary. A diary full of secrets. The terrible things Lauren did, the lies she’s told, the reason she ran away. And she receives a message:

"I don’t know why you’re back, but I know why you left."

But no one else has seen the diary, and Hannah’s dead, isn’t she?

A suspenseful psychological thriller full of twists and turns - you won’t be able to stop listening to The Diary. Perfect for fans of The Sister, The Girl on the Train, and We Were Liars

©2018 Vikki Patis (P)2018 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unmissable

A fantastic book. I couldnt stop listening. Great story and well read. Absolutely loved it!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful

One of those books which makes you wonder how on Earth it was published. I would suggest this is meant for teenagers but I think that’s probably patronising teenager. Massively overrated.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Missed the mark

Great story but lost it’s way and started to drag. Especially when the ending became very predictable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

just could not get into this book

i found this book very slow and uninteresting tried several times but just could not enjoy it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

boring!

didn't like the story, the characters and a storyline which seem to go nowhere ever so slowly!

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Daisy
  • Daisy
  • 31-12-18

Unexpected Ending

It's a good story that is a page turner.. I kept listening to the audible book to the end to find out the culprit.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jane Chandler
  • Jane Chandler
  • 19-12-18

Complicated Nodsense

Boring & unnecessary foul language with a convoluted inane plot. Not sure that plot is even the correct word. Try it you may like. It’s just not my ‘cup of tea’!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-03-19

Not a thriller.

Not "unput-downable" either. Kept waiting for something to happen, for the story to go somewhere but it didn't. The narrator is very good though.