Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Following the breakout successes of The Night I Met Father Christmas and The Boy Who Made the World Disappear, get ready for the brilliant new novel from actor, comedian and best-selling author Ben Miller, perfect for fans of Matt Haig and David Baddiel! 

Lana loves stories. Especially the ones she and her brother, Harrison, share in their make-believe games. But when Harrison decides he’s too grown-up to play with Lana she finds herself feeling lonely. Until something magical happens....

Hidden in the strange new supermarket in town, Lana discovers a portal to a fairytale world! But these aren’t the happy-ever-after fairytales that Lana knows, they are darker and more dangerous and the characters need Lana’s help to defeat an evil witch. But she can’t do it alone. Can she convince Harrison to believe in stories again and journey to the world with her...before it’s too late?      

©2020 Ben Miller (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about The Day I Fell into a Fairytale

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story but musical interludes far to loud

As an adult I enjoy children's books to fall asleep to. This books recording has a huge difference between the spoken voice levels and thoes of a few sound effects and every musical interlude that blast out at you. Infact the music actually woke me up - so as a book to fall asleep to this is pointless!! I'm considering returning this as it's not fit for my primary usage but the story is actually rather good so I'm currently undecided.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

love this book from start to finish a breath of fresh air. would highly recommend

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Has the author never met a 9yearold girl?

I have never met such a clingy, dependent and incapable girl as this child in real life. Definitely a crap role model for girls. And what parents keep on like that about the dangers of being scared by reading?! A normal girl would have found the book and read it herself within minutes.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

great childrens story

great childrens story. like Ben miller's performance too, its good I need words to fill reviw

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yes I am an adult !!! but....

Loved this as bedtime listening. The story line was imaginative and Ben Miller's read was straight forward and easy to listen to. Good twist on fairytale...kids would enjoy it too 😅

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I loved it except the ending

The ending could have been better but other than that I really enjoyed the story and it was well read.