Listen free for 30 days

The Daughter in Law

Length: 9 hrs and 25 mins
4 out of 5 stars (27 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

No one is good enough for her son....

As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding? She’ll protect him with her life....

When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding.... 

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K. L. Slater.

©2019 Nina Manning (P)2019 Boldwood Books

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    17
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

worst book ever avoid

awful story long winded predicable.
just silly literally could if summed it up in about 2chapters don't bother wasting your credit

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

A completely immersive and compelling story, beautifully read and executed. Brilliant story from beginning to end. Highly recommend!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sensational!

What a utterly brilliantly gripping and well crafted debut novel by Nina Manning. This is THE perfect summer read and bounces along at a great pace to kept the momentum gong as we gather more and more
Knowledge and insight into the characters. I can see this being adapted perfectly into a Feature Film as I visualised every dramatic scene and didn’t see the finale coming and had me utterly hooked from the first chapter.
Can’t wait for book number 2 from Nina!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, shame about the grammar!

The story gripped me from the start, I couldn’t stop listening.
The only thing that rankled, and the reason I didn’t give it 5 stars, was the wrong usage of ‘me’ and ‘I’. For example “She gave it to Ben and I”. This surely shouldn’t happen in a final copy that’s been proof-read?

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendi
  • Wendi
  • 21-08-19

Uhhh... What?? No.

After my fourth attempt to listen to this book, I stopped and asked for my money back. I LOVE psychological thrillers and I can usually find at least one thing interesting or 'different,' or something with a sense of 'twist.'

It's not here. In fact, I don't even know what this book is about. It should be called 'The Mother In Law' or 'The Jerk Son' because that's all the author talks about. This was frustrating. I waited for it to get better but alas.. it doesn't.

I paid full price because it was cheaper than using a credit and, I want my money back.

Blah.

-Wendi

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 23-09-19

not good

This story was not good at all. I just spent the whole book thinking something was coming. A big reveal or a shocking twist, or that maybe I missed something, but nope, it was just not good.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NJS
  • NJS
  • 04-09-19

Ugh

Lousy-don’t waste your time. It dragged on & on only to get to the end felling like, “You know what? I don’t care!” Pointless telling of backstories that ended up not making a difference. Spend your credit elsewhere.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eh chaponis
  • eh chaponis
  • 25-08-19

The Daughter in Law

Top notch suspense, great characters!! Nina Manning knows how to keep you nailed to a non-stop thriller, take the ride if you’re life! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 17-08-19

Great story

I will say that I had it mostly figured out as I'm sure others will too but even with that said I couldn't stop listening! Great writing and character development!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lisa Taylor
  • Lisa Taylor
  • 11-09-19

good but...

it draaaaaaaged on it could have been a lot shorter. somewhat predictable. But it kept me interest. barely

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia
  • Cynthia
  • 06-09-19

Creepy and Excellebt

Often love an author’s debut book, and The Daughter in Law is no exception. Could not stopping listening. Excellent narration and well-structured story line. Highly Recommend!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful