Listen free for 30 days

The Daughter in Law

Length: 9 hrs and 25 mins
4.1 out of 5 stars (333 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

No one is good enough for her son....

As a single mother, Annie has an especially close relationship with her son, Ben. They have always been together. Just the two of them. So, when Ben brings home his mysterious beautiful new wife, Daisy, immediately Annie doesn’t trust her. Who is this woman who has taken her son away from her? And what is she hiding? She’ll protect him with her life....

When Ben disappears, suddenly Annie and Daisy are all the other one has. Alone in Annie’s big, remote house, just the two of them, the tension is rising. And like any protective mother, Annie will stop at nothing to expose her new daughter in law, and the secrets she is hiding.... 

A gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth's The Mother In Law, Lisa Jewell and K. L. Slater.

©2019 Nina Manning (P)2019 Boldwood Books

What listeners say about The Daughter in Law

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    171
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    23
  • 1 Stars
    19
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    35
  • 2 Stars
    17
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    149
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    24
  • 1 Stars
    17

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible book

It’s only because we’re in lockdown that I didn’t stop listening to this incredibly wordy boring book. All the protagonists just went on and on and on..... about their feelings, their relationships, their pasts, their futures and anything else they could whine about and I think this will be seen as a “woman’s book “ because it’s about women and their relationship to childbearing and care. Having experienced both I don’t want to have to listen to any more. I’ve noted the authors name so I don’t listen to any more

40 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This book was so boring found it difficult to cont

Boring tedious don't bother to waste your time listening to it tedious. Too much explanation of. Surroundings etc and not even detail about plot.

21 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

worst book ever avoid

awful story long winded predicable. just silly literally could if summed it up in about 2chapters don't bother wasting your credit

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great story, shame about the grammar!

The story gripped me from the start, I couldn’t stop listening. The only thing that rankled, and the reason I didn’t give it 5 stars, was the wrong usage of ‘me’ and ‘I’. For example “She gave it to Ben and I”. This surely shouldn’t happen in a final copy that’s been proof-read?

18 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

A completely immersive and compelling story, beautifully read and executed. Brilliant story from beginning to end. Highly recommend!

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sensational!

What a utterly brilliantly gripping and well crafted debut novel by Nina Manning. This is THE perfect summer read and bounces along at a great pace to kept the momentum gong as we gather more and more Knowledge and insight into the characters. I can see this being adapted perfectly into a Feature Film as I visualised every dramatic scene and didn’t see the finale coming and had me utterly hooked from the first chapter. Can’t wait for book number 2 from Nina!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Daughtet in law

A amazing story line I was grip from the beginning to the end. Even better listening via audio my joinery today and from work became enjoyable because I needed to know what was going to happen next. Many thanks

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really good read.

Gets you hooked from the start although a little predictable nevertheless keeps you on tenterhooks until the end.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful from start to finish

This book is about women and their quest to find a man, have natural childbirths and breastfeed... oh and learning to cook so you can keep your man. Weird storyline which is a cross between ‘Misery’ and a bad Mills and Boon. Writing is shockingly bad. Cannot believe this stuff still gets written.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Disappointing!

This starts well, but becomes drawn out and a bit tedious. As another reviewer notes, the narration is excessively angst ridden, by 2/3 through, I found it very heavy going.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Wendi
  • Wendi
  • 21-08-19

Uhhh... What?? No.

After my fourth attempt to listen to this book, I stopped and asked for my money back. I LOVE psychological thrillers and I can usually find at least one thing interesting or 'different,' or something with a sense of 'twist.' It's not here. In fact, I don't even know what this book is about. It should be called 'The Mother In Law' or 'The Jerk Son' because that's all the author talks about. This was frustrating. I waited for it to get better but alas.. it doesn't. I paid full price because it was cheaper than using a credit and, I want my money back. Blah. -Wendi

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cynthia
  • Cynthia
  • 06-09-19

Creepy and Excellebt

Often love an author’s debut book, and The Daughter in Law is no exception. Could not stopping listening. Excellent narration and well-structured story line. Highly Recommend!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for lisa
  • lisa
  • 17-08-19

Great story

I will say that I had it mostly figured out as I'm sure others will too but even with that said I couldn't stop listening! Great writing and character development!!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah
  • Sarah
  • 23-09-19

not good

This story was not good at all. I just spent the whole book thinking something was coming. A big reveal or a shocking twist, or that maybe I missed something, but nope, it was just not good.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LisalouRN
  • LisalouRN
  • 11-09-19

good but...

it draaaaaaaged on it could have been a lot shorter. somewhat predictable. But it kept me interest. barely

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for NJS
  • NJS
  • 04-09-19

Ugh

Lousy-don’t waste your time. It dragged on & on only to get to the end felling like, “You know what? I don’t care!” Pointless telling of backstories that ended up not making a difference. Spend your credit elsewhere.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eh chaponis
  • eh chaponis
  • 25-08-19

The Daughter in Law

Top notch suspense, great characters!! Nina Manning knows how to keep you nailed to a non-stop thriller, take the ride if you’re life! 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andrew Dunne
  • Andrew Dunne
  • 25-02-20

Not believable!

There are so many problems with this book that I’m not sure where to start. The characters are annoying and the story is pretty absurd. I forced myself to finish it but I would not recommend this at all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-02-20

Entertaining....

This book had me interested from the start and really looking for what the twists would lead to and when it finally did, it was amazing. Well written and very well performed. I absolutely will be looking for more books by Nina Manning.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan
  • Susan
  • 25-12-19

Loved this plot

It is a bit slow and frustrating in the middle—everything will be explained so keep reading. Very good and suspenseful book!