Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.99

Buy Now for £14.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Welcome to the beautiful seaside town of Port Agnes. 

A fresh start....

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back. But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal her battered heart - the place she once called home. 

A new arrival....

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babies - it’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson...the first man to break her heart. 

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely - and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella's chance to love again....

Meet the Cornish midwives of Port Agnes - where community, friendship and love are always delivered. An uplifting and escapist story, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.

©2021 Jo Bartlett (P)2021 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"I love second chance stories. I love returning home stories. So a book combining both is an absolute winner for me. The Cornish Midwife is simply gorgeous. Stunning setting, wonderful characters and oozing with warmth. A triumph from Jo Bartlett and a cracking start to what promises to be a fabulous series." (Jessica Redland)

"Perfectly written and set in the beating heart of a community, this story is a wonderful slice of Cornish escapism." (Helen J. Rolfe)

What listeners say about The Cornish Midwife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    175
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    156
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Some good plot lines

But they felt under-developed. I really tried to enjoy this story but it was predictable and the lead character was incredibly boring and far too self-sacrificial. The outcome was highly predictable but I cannot fault it for the feel-good factor if only the world was full of people as nice as this and life that simple!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • T
  • 15-10-21

Nice easy story

I like to listen when driving. So like something not too complicated. This fits the bill perfectly. Gentle story line. I’ve already downloaded the next two books in the series

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the corniche midwife

thoroughly enjoyed the book. can't wait to hear 2nd story. loved the narrators relaxing manner when reading the story, she brought life to all the characters.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Too sickly-sweet for me

The narration was really good but the storyline was just too gooey and laughably predictable!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book

Loved this book from start to end cannot wait to listen to the other instalments. Love the characters in this book and the story, would recommend this to anyone

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Cornish Midwife is a lovely book.

All about being a midwife but also it's the beginning of a love story which continues in the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

compelling

loved it, couldn't stop listening. Easy to follow the stories twists and turns. No loose ends left at the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A lovely feel good listen

Loved this audiobook an easy listen and a feel good book. I am addicted now and need to listen to them all in there series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it

a really gentle narration of a delightful, sweet story. I can't wait to listen to book 2

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cornish midwife

loved it another d enjoyed the story. I am going to listen to the one