Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Welcome to the beautiful seaside town of Port Agnes. 

A fresh start....

Midwife Ella Mehenick left the small Cornish town of Port Agnes for London and never looked back. But when her seemingly perfect life crashes down around her, there’s only one place she can heal her battered heart - the place she once called home. 

A new arrival....

Ella is quickly welcomed into the small community midwife team and loves her new job caring for mums and their precious babies - it’s what she does best! But being back also means facing ex-flame Dan Ferguson...the first man to break her heart. 

A second chance at love?

Dan is still as gorgeous as ever, but he’s never forgiven Ella for leaving. And now she’s back it’s clear that there is unfinished business between them. As Ella settles into her new/old life, she can’t stop the memories of how she once loved Dan so completely - and maybe never stopped.

Maybe coming home to Cornwall is Ella's chance to love again....

Meet the Cornish midwives of Port Agnes - where community, friendship and love are always delivered. An uplifting and escapist story, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

This book was previously published as Return to Port Agnes.

©2021 Jo Bartlett (P)2021 Boldwood Books

Critic reviews

"I love second chance stories. I love returning home stories. So a book combining both is an absolute winner for me. The Cornish Midwife is simply gorgeous. Stunning setting, wonderful characters and oozing with warmth. A triumph from Jo Bartlett and a cracking start to what promises to be a fabulous series." (Jessica Redland)

"Perfectly written and set in the beating heart of a community, this story is a wonderful slice of Cornish escapism." (Helen J. Rolfe)

What listeners say about The Cornish Midwife

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.