Listen free for 30 days

The Child of Auschwitz

Absolutely Heartbreaking World War 2 Historical Fiction
Narrated by: Katy Sobey
Length: 7 hrs and 23 mins
Categories: Fiction, Literary
5 out of 5 stars (15 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

"She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth."

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier. 

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand....

As the days pass, the two women learn each other’s hopes and dreams - Eva’s is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie’s is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy....

But when Eva realises she is pregnant, she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other’s children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can. 

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.

©2019 Lily Graham (P)2019 2019

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreaking, but not altogether so.

Who wouldn't be moved by this. written with compassion, a heartbreaking story, yet hope prevails.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

What a wonderful story. The story of two friends, prisoners in Auschwitz, how their lives led them there and the horrors they endured there. But all through the book runs a thread of hope and love and the ending is fitting and perfect. Loved it and highly recommend.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MCederstrom
  • MCederstrom
  • 27-01-20

Courageous & Inspiring

Well put together and very inspiring. This book tells of a dark time in history, and what love and good has prevailed in that time. It was very heard to put this down. So worth the read. And very well narrated also. Narrator brings the story closer and helps one imagine in the mind.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for K. Byrne
  • K. Byrne
  • 01-12-19

Moving story

Strength, hope and love abound. Based on true events ... amazing. I didnt feel a deep connection with characters but enjoyed very much.

1 person found this helpful