Regular price: £14.39

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

For fans of Robert Harris, David Peace, and Joseph Kanon - a taut, gripping, and darkly menacing novel set in wartime Berlin.

Berlin, 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye, then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him?

Corpses dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: Are these routine murders committed out of rage, or is someone trying to tell them something?

©2016 Chris Petit (P)2016 Simon & Schuster

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Hello, who are you again?

So many people. There’s only so many times you want to skip back to work out who’s who. Still a bit lost tbh. It’s not bad, but I like the basics in place.
Oh, and you know the line about “ I don’t care who dies as long as the dog lives”? Well, a variation on that. Multiple times. Glad to be vegan at times like this.