Listen free for 30 days

The Butchers of Berlin

Narrated by: Allan Corduner
Length: 14 hrs and 24 mins
4 out of 5 stars (49 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For fans of Robert Harris, David Peace, and Joseph Kanon - a taut, gripping, and darkly menacing novel set in wartime Berlin.

Berlin, 1943. August Schlegel lives in a world full of questions with no easy answers. Why is he being called out on a homicide case when he works in financial crimes? Why did the old Jewish soldier with an Iron Cross shoot the block warden in the eye, then put a bullet through his own head? Why does Schlegel persist with the case when no one cares because the Jews are all being shipped out anyway? And why should Eiko Morgen, wearing the dreaded black uniform of the SS, turn up and say he has been assigned to work with him?

Corpses dressed with fake money, bodies flayed beyond recognition: Are these routine murders committed out of rage, or is someone trying to tell them something?

©2016 Chris Petit (P)2016 Simon & Schuster

More from the same

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Hello, who are you again?

So many people. There’s only so many times you want to skip back to work out who’s who. Still a bit lost tbh. It’s not bad, but I like the basics in place.
Oh, and you know the line about “ I don’t care who dies as long as the dog lives”? Well, a variation on that. Multiple times. Glad to be vegan at times like this.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful