Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Set in a charming little Scottish town, The Bookshop of Second Chances is the most uplifting story you'll listen to this winter, by a hugely talented debut author.

Thea’s having a bad month. Not only has she been made redundant, she’s also discovered her husband of nearly 20 years is sleeping with one of her friends. And he’s not sorry - he’s leaving.

Bewildered and lost, Thea doesn’t know what to do. But, when she learns the great-uncle she barely knew has died and left her his huge collection of secondhand books and a house in the Scottish Lowlands, she seems to have been offered a second chance.

Running away to a little town where no one knows her seems like exactly what Thea needs. But when she meets the aristocratic Maltravers brothers - grumpy bookshop owner Edward and his estranged brother Charles, Lord Hollinshaw - her new life quickly becomes just as complicated as the life she was running from....

An enchanting story of Scottish lords, secondhand books, new beginnings and second chances perfect for fans of Cressida McLaughlin, Veronica Henry, Rachel Lucas and Jenny Colgan.

©2020 Jackie Fraser (P)2020 Simon & Schuster UK

What listeners say about The Bookshop of Second Chances

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KW
  • 27-03-21

Great story, brilliant narration

Absolutely fabulous narration but the story had much more about it than I was expecting too. Not the usual, reassuringly predictable, progress from low point to happiness - ending with the lead character getting her man. This was a whole lot more realistic and emotionally mature. Loved it. And look forward to more from this author.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab book, well written

Loved it! Only fault is sometimes the audio sped up. Hope for more books!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Superb

Incredibley well written, not my usual genre, butI am extremely pleased that I went off piste so to speak, I can't wait for the next book by this Author.
Also my praise continues for the narrator, she was simply brilliant, in fact I do not think the story would have held me captive to such a degree, with another narrator,She was awesome,
Looking forward to hearing her again too. Well done to both of you

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely loved this book.

This book is well written, beautifully narrated, and an utterly satisfying story. I was really sad when I finished it. This is the first book in this genre that's really matched up to Jenny Colgan, and that's the highest accolade I could possibly give it. I can't wait to listen to something else by this author. (I hope she's writing quickly!!!)