Listen free for 30 days

The Bone Fire

Oswald de Lacy, Book 4
By: S D Sykes
Narrated by: Ewan Goddard
Series: Oswald de Lacy, Book 4
Length: 10 hrs and 42 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The brand-new Oswald de Lacy medieval thriller, for fans of C. J. Sansom, Minette Walters and S. J. Parris.  

1361. Plague has returned to England - 13 years after the devastation of the Black Death. As destruction advances towards his estate in Kent, Oswald de Lacy leads his family to the safety of a remote castle in the marshes - where his friend Godfrey is preparing a fortress to survive the coming disaster. 

The rules are clear: once the de Lacys and other guests are inside the castle the portcullis will be lowered and no-one permitted to enter or leave until the Pestilence has passed. 

And then a murderer strikes. 

Oswald is confronted with a stark choice - leave and face the ravages of the plague or stay and place his family at the mercy of a brutal killer. With word of his skills as an investigator preceding him, it falls to Oswald to unmask the murderer in their midst. Host, guest or servant - everyone is a suspect in this poisoned refuge of secrets, deceit and malice. 

Suspenseful, evocative, compelling, The Bone Fire is a superb historical crime novel from the author of City of Masks.

©2019 Portica Associates Ltd (P)2019 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.