Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £19.99

Buy Now for £19.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Richard and Judy and international best-selling author.

A tragic love story spanning three decades, The Bench is Saskia Sarginson's most accomplished and heart-rending novel to date. For fans of One Day and A Star Is Born.

'We should have a plaque too,' he says. 'What would it say?'

I tilt my head. 'For Cat and Sam, who found each other and lost each other and found each other again,' I suggest.

It begins at the end. 

It begins on a bench, on a heath, where a woman waits for a man. 

Ten years ago, they made a pact: 

On this bench, on this day, they will end a love affair that's spanned three decades, or start again. 

They should never have met. They should never have fallen in love. 

But they did, until a lie separated them for a lifetime. 

Can they fix the mistake, forgive the lie, erase the years in between? 

Can what was lost ever truly be found?

©2020 Saskia Sarginson (P)2020 Hachette Audio UK

What listeners say about The Bench

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartbreakingly beautiful

I absolutely loved this book - I couldn't wait to get to the end to find out what happened to Sam and Kat but at the same time I didn't want to finish it! I thought that Stephanie Cannon's narration was superb - she really brought the characters to life! Can't wait to listen to more by Saskia Sarginson and will be buying the book for my mum to read.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

I loved this book! I laughed and cried my way through it in 3 days. Beautiful story!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story...

But! you get to the end and it’s so rushed! We want to know what they did in the end not just a brief epilogue of something we’ve been desperate for through out the book! Would totally recommend it though I couldn’t stop listening.