Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

They say she’s guilty. She says she’s not. Who do you believe?

"Help me! Help me, please!"

When Jenna hears the cry in the park one night, she feels she has no choice but to run and help. Cradling the injured woman in her arms, the attacker nowhere to be seen, all Jenna wants is to keep her alive until the ambulance arrives and for the ordeal to be over.

But the nightmare begins when the victim wakes up...

Jenna’s relief turns to horror when the finger is pointed at her. There must be some mistake: She’s never seen the woman before in her life, and Jenna tried to save her life. Why would she accuse Jenna of a crime she didn’t commit?

As the case against Jenna grows, her world starts to fall apart. Her teenage daughter is keeping secrets and her husband is growing more distant every day. To save her family and clear her name, Jenna has to prove she didn’t do it.

But someone knows something Jenna did do. And they want to make her pay...

The Accusation is an addictive psychological thriller that asks how far you would go for justice. Perfect for fans of He Said/She Said, The Silent Patient and The Woman in the Window.

©2020 Victoria Jenkins (P)2020 Bookouture

Critic reviews

"Wow, wow, wow another roller coaster of a book...like opening Christmas presents but early...Victoria Jenkins is the Queen of twists. I never see them coming. I would definitely recommend it." (Blue Moon Blogger, 5 stars)

"Gripping and unputdownable. This has been a great read which has kept me guessing...a highly talented author." (Little Miss Book Lover 87, 5 stars)

What listeners say about The Accusation

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fab!!!

great read! well narrated! kept me going all through and no obvious ending it's a 5 from me 😁👍👍

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book

it was a bit long winded in places, but overall it was quite good, i missed the story in a couple of places, but soon picked it back up. the narrator read it well.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Absolutely horrible, worst book of 2020

The performance was awful. The narrator's voice was very "Woe is me-ish" and super annoying. She couldn't do other characters so everyone was annoying. No one was fully developed. It was just a mess. I kept falling asleep on this. The story made no sense. I would laugh at the ridiculousness if I wasn't so annoyed. And what was with the repetition? Was the author trying to reach a specific word count? Did no one edit this? How many times do we have to hear about how the main character's mother in law disliked her?! Where is the new information? I'm returning this immediately.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Book

Really enjoyed this book, well read, interesting all the time. Recommend listening to. Enjoy people.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • jb
  • 15-07-20

This is maybe a bit premature but it’s not good...

I’m only half way through and giving up on it; the story might be ok but the main character is somewhat annoying - naive - which is perhaps fitting giving the premise of the plot, but irritating and not helped unfortunately by the narrators pace which is over slow and deliberate. Not for me.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Goodness, the principal character was a pain

Not sure if it was the voice of the narrator or the writing that made Jenna such a miserable character. Always moaning, and the breathy, wistful voice was really annoying. The police investigation was ridiculous; there was no motive, no weapon at the scene, but somehow the bloody knife turned up in her kitchen. It may have been better if I had read the book rather than getting the audible version

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

fab listen

lots of twist and turns. good listen.
easily worked it out half way through. Still enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

This is all TELL and not show.

Complete waste of my time. All tell and not show. Bad writing ruined it all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

You won't want this to end. Brilliant story and narration. Enjoyed every chapter. A real gripper

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

very good enjoyed listening to this book will

loved it was definitely a twist Turner x will definitely download more of these fab books

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • JenniferLOVESThrillers
  • 23-06-20

Kind of Boring

This is a domestic thriller but not enough twists. The story doesn’t get interesting until the last hour. The characters were somewhat interesting. I don’t know, the whole thing was just blah.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Cat Lover
  • Cat Lover
  • 16-10-20

Not a fan of narrator

I loved the story, twists and turns, characters. I really struggled with the narrator. I found her to be too monotone. A lot was happening, but I found her very flat
Not much emotion with a lot of the things that were going on