Listen free for 30 days

Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems

Narrated by: Davis Deen
Length: 4 hrs and 33 mins
4.7 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

This audiobook includes a collection of 12 stories and poems drawn from Davis Deen's Trinidadian background. The writing is warm and rich, rooted in and uttering from the Caribbean oral tradition.

This debut collection reflects the views of the ancestral storytelling spirit to change, to adapt, to grow both culturally and socially.

Fans of Lawrence Scott and Anthony Joseph will cherish this collection.

©2013 Davis Deen (P)2014 Davis Deen

What listeners say about Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Still smiling.

If you could sum up Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems in three words, what would they be?

Time covers all.

Who was your favorite character and why?

The old man.

Which scene did you most enjoy?

The drunks walk home

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes. had to listen as much as I could before I had to start work.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

We Need More of You

Where does Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

The nostalgia, emotional investment, laughter and pride that came from listening to this audiobook was totally unexpected, but very much appreciated. From my desk, in a grey office, amidst the paperwork and emails, I was able to connect with my grandparents and caribbean relatives as a result of Deen's magical storytelling.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Tales of Survival: Caribbean Stories and Poems?

The story of Anansi was beautifully told. It was nice to relive a tale I haven't heard since I was a little girl, and it's amazing how drawn I was to the hooks, the comedy and the lesson. The 'timelessness' of it all was much appreciated.

What about Davis Deen’s performance did you like?

His voice is so warm and familiar; essential for this type of book.

Did you have an emotional reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I laughed...a lot...serious belly laughs!