Regular price: £18.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

How much is your child worth? That's the question Hugo and Emily Cox must answer when they get a ransom demand for their child - from Alice, the surrogate mother they paid to carry their baby. The police are helpless. No law has been broken - the baby belongs to their surrogate. And Hugo has a secret he's keeping from his wife that makes their search even more desperate. Now Hugo and Emily must find their missing daughter...even if it costs them everything they own. Fans of Elizabeth Haynes, Sophie Hannah and Mark Edwards will love this gripping and fast-moving thriller.

©2014 Tim Adler (P)2017 Audible, Ltd

Critic reviews

"Compulsively readable" (Sunday Times Culture)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

unbelievable storyline

This book had me frustrated from the very start. Far fetched plot and poorly researched in areas.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story line

I guessed what would happen from the beginning-ish part. Still a good story though. I found it weird he kept honing in on 'black people' why he couldn't just say people I'll never know.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Surrogate

Very well written and exciting right up to the end with plenty of twists and turns. The narrater does a good job to keep you interested. I shall keep a lookout for more books from this author.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

This story is excellent. The inter weaving & layering is just great. It's not confusing, it's so well told it pulls it together.
The narrator is good too. Right tempo & accents.
Very good & enjoyable throughout

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • cristina
  • 26-04-17

I was glued to it, what can I say?

It's not brilliant (and it gets a little lost towards the end), but I have to give four stars to any book I can't wait to get back to when I am forced to stop listening. Piers Hampton is absolutely GREAT as a the narrator.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joannne
  • 28-07-17

An Idea gone so wrong!

What made the experience of listening to Surrogate the most enjoyable?

This is one of the best books I have listened to all year! Voice narration is perfect. Story is so well written! Wow, a real keeper!

What did you like best about this story?

never lets up!

Which character – as performed by Piers Hampton – was your favorite?

Hugo of course!

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

Be careful, be sooo careful!