Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Summer at Hope Meadows

  • Hope Meadows, Book 1
  • By: Lucy Daniels
  • Narrated by: Rosie Jones
  • Length: 10 hrs and 17 mins
  • 4.9 out of 5 stars (39 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Summer at Hope Meadows cover art

Summer at Hope Meadows

By: Lucy Daniels
Narrated by: Rosie Jones
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £12.99

Buy Now for £12.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Coming Home to Puddleduck Farm cover art
A House to Mend a Broken Heart cover art
Secrets and Seashells at Rainbow Bay cover art
Mist cover art
Letters from Lighthouse Cottage cover art
The Summer of Serendipity cover art
The Little Flower Shop by the Sea cover art
Night Music cover art
The Lost Pony of Riverdale cover art
The Cottage on Sunshine Beach cover art
The Start of Something Wonderful cover art
Snowflakes Over the Starfish Café cover art
Finding Love at Hedgehog Hollow cover art
Escape to Willow Cottage cover art
Animal Instincts cover art
Coming Home to the Highlands cover art

Summary

The first novel in the heartwarming, countryside-set Hope Meadows series. 

Newly qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds - and her boyfriend, Simon - to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in, where she'll help out with animals of all shapes and sizes in her parents' surgery. But it's not all plain sailing: Mandy clashes with gruff local Jimmy Marsh, and some of the villagers won't accept a new vet. 

Meanwhile, Simon is determined that Mandy will rejoin him back in the city. When tragedy strikes for her best friend, James Hunter, and some neglected animals are discovered on a nearby farm, Mandy must prove herself. When it comes to being there for her friends - and protecting animals in need - she's prepared to do whatever it takes.... 

This gorgeous and heartwarming novel, based on the globally best-selling Animal Ark series, is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde. 

©2017 Lucy Daniels (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"A stunning, beautiful tale of friendship and love...I laughed and I cried, and cannot recommend it highly enough!" (Books of All Kinds)

"An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community." (Bookworms and Shutterbugs)

"Just the right amount of nostalgia...wonderful and very poignant." (The World Is a Book Blog)

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about Summer at Hope Meadows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It’s an animal world

This was a really good story without the “slushy”romance and angst that sometimes spoils these novels.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

Really enjoyed this easy to listen to good story great fun after the animal ark book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Happy go lucky and lots of hope.

I really enjoyed this book, it was one of those I cannot put down, something really relatable . A lovely read if you like animals. I would think this book is suitable for young adults too adults in there 30’s , it does contain some descriptive Vetanarian operations, and light swearing. But I loved the little bit of romance and the realism and all the research was done very well. The audio was really fitting the accent I thought was just right, tho sometimes it was hard to tell if it was Mandy or James talking. I felt that perhaps the story ended a bit soon, but I spose it’s hard to end a story like this at all. It would have been nice to know if Sky had found her forever home. Maybe that is fan service I’m asking for. :) Alround happy , go lucky read , with ups and downs. A story to give you hope. :)

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!