Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The first novel in the heartwarming, countryside-set Hope Meadows series. 

Newly qualified vet Mandy Hope is leaving Leeds - and her boyfriend, Simon - to return to the Yorkshire village she grew up in, where she'll help out with animals of all shapes and sizes in her parents' surgery. But it's not all plain sailing: Mandy clashes with gruff local Jimmy Marsh, and some of the villagers won't accept a new vet. 

Meanwhile, Simon is determined that Mandy will rejoin him back in the city. When tragedy strikes for her best friend, James Hunter, and some neglected animals are discovered on a nearby farm, Mandy must prove herself. When it comes to being there for her friends - and protecting animals in need - she's prepared to do whatever it takes.... 

This gorgeous and heartwarming novel, based on the globally best-selling Animal Ark series, is perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley and Katie Fforde. 

©2017 Lucy Daniels (P)2018 Hodder & Stoughton Limited

Critic reviews

"A stunning, beautiful tale of friendship and love...I laughed and I cried, and cannot recommend it highly enough!" (Books of All Kinds)

"An adorable read [with] a real sense of village community." (Bookworms and Shutterbugs)

"Just the right amount of nostalgia...wonderful and very poignant." (The World Is a Book Blog)

What listeners say about Summer at Hope Meadows

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Happy go lucky and lots of hope.

I really enjoyed this book, it was one of those I cannot put down, something really relatable . A lovely read if you like animals. I would think this book is suitable for young adults too adults in there 30’s , it does contain some descriptive Vetanarian operations, and light swearing. But I loved the little bit of romance and the realism and all the research was done very well. The audio was really fitting the accent I thought was just right, tho sometimes it was hard to tell if it was Mandy or James talking. I felt that perhaps the story ended a bit soon, but I spose it’s hard to end a story like this at all. It would have been nice to know if Sky had found her forever home. Maybe that is fan service I’m asking for. :) Alround happy , go lucky read , with ups and downs. A story to give you hope. :)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

Really enjoyed this easy to listen to good story great fun after the animal ark book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It’s an animal world

This was a really good story without the “slushy”romance and angst that sometimes spoils these novels.