Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £22.99

Buy Now for £22.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A Reese Witherspoon book club pick

 A Sunday Times crime club pick

 Winner of Stylist book wars

 The Pool's december bedtime book club pick

 Shortlisted for amazon's best mystery/thriller of the year 

As the party of the year gets underway, celebrities and patrons pour into the Rocque Museum to see Kim Lord - L.A.'s artist of the moment - stabbed, strangled, shot, and beaten. It's the opening night of Still Lives, Kim's new collection of shockingly graphic self-portraits, in which she impersonates the victims of America's most famous homicides, from Nicole Brown Simpson to the Black Dahlia.
 

The crowd eagerly await Kim's arrival, but she fails to appear at the gala. Among those gathered is Maggie Richter, a museum editor whose ex, Greg Shaw Ferguson, is in a relationship with Kim. When Kim is declared officially missing, and Greg is arrested on suspicion of murder, Maggie is drawn into an investigation of her own, haunted by the thought that Kim has suffered the same terrible fate as the women in her paintings. 

Perfect for fans of Gone Girl, Sharp Objects and Big Little Lies.

©2018 Maria Hummel (P)2018 Quercus Editions Limited

Critic reviews

"A thrilling mystery... still keeps us up at night, it's that good." (Reese Witherspoon)

"A gripping and entertaining mystery, and a biting cultural critique that seeks to understand our obsession with the violent deaths of beautiful women." (Bustle)

"A taut thriller...she writes a hell of an ending." (LA Review of Books)

More from the same

What listeners say about Still Lives

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diana
  • Diana
  • 04-02-21

Worth The Credit

This was a good listen. It did drag a little but it was good. The twist was a surprise to me. I would absolutely recommend!