Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £18.29

Buy Now for £18.29

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Suicide Squad meets Galaxy Quest, in this fast-paced, laugh-out-loud novel from the author the Independent calls, "the new Terry Pratchett." After saving an alien race and its god from a sentient zombie virus, Cal Carver and the crew of the Dread Ship Shatner are feeling pretty pleased with themselves. Unfortunately, the creator of the zombie virus is out for revenge, and has recruited the galaxy's deadliest - and oldest - assassin, Lady Vajazzle, to hunt Space Team down. But when Vajazzle discovers the crew is under the protection of a wolf-like species known as the Greyx, she is forced to implement a Plan B so diabolical it threatens to plunge the entire star system into chaos. With time running out, Cal must find a way to outmaneuver and outgun the galaxy's greatest killer before she murders his friends, butchers the Greyx, and buys the whole galaxy a one-way ticket to total annihilation.

©2016 Barry J. Hutchison (P)2017 Barry J. Hutchison

What listeners say about Space Team: The Wrath of Vajazzle

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    251
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    262
  • 4 Stars
    43
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    220
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Worst pilot ever.

Any additional comments?

A comedy science fiction story, rather than a sci fi story with comedy: very different. And whilst it has the potential to be a very funny film, given excellent actors playing it for real (as opposed to for laughs as there is sufficient built into the text already, for example the astonishingly bad piloting of Lauren, able to accidentally land on the only building within a thousand miles of desert), I did not enjoy it as a book.

This was by no means the fault of narrator Phil Thorn, who read flawlessly with good intonation and understanding, and expression of the text as well as giving individual and differentiated voices to the various protagonists. A good performance, although I did increase the listening speed to 1.25, finding his pace just a tad too slow.

The book is well written and immaginative in content. If near slapstick humour is your thing, this is probably for you. Sadly, it did not appeal to me. My thanks, however, to the rights holder who freely gifted me a copy of the book, via Audiobook Boom.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Easy listening,

Put a smile on my face, at one point I at listening to the story rather than put the telly on, so must be engaging. Seemed shorter than other audiobooks, but the reader is great.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

excellent book

I received this book for free in exchange for an unbiased review from http://www.audiobooksunleased.com

I loved this book. The characters are enjoyable and the banter is often laugh out loud funny. A worthy second book to the series.

Phil Thron does a superb job narrating.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I've enjoyed this programme

Great audio book, I've enjoyed this programme very, very, much! Ready for the next one.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

It's a grower

Galaxy quest mixed with red dwarf with a dash of Jim Carey humour shaken, served slightly cool and garnished with cheesey sci fi references.
That's a win btw

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M
  • 10-07-19

Amazeballs

Fonkin amazing, can't stop listening to these audio books. Quick wit, stellar bravery, fast paced! Please, please, please make films!!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome

fantastic follow up book, fun characters and great narration. ALREADY got the next one queued up

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loving the Series

Another great listen, and an amazing narrator. A-team, Star trek and Red Dwarf rolled into one great listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great 2nd outing.

Though these books are shorter than I’d like they are great fun tales. Cals sheer lack of understanding the galactic world he’s been thrust into and him trying to make sense of it using tv sci-fi really makes it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent.

Somehow not as funny as the book and yet just as enjoyable. Weird that! Now straight onto (into?) the Search for Splurt.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for singh
  • singh
  • 19-09-17

Much, much, MUCH better than...

I don't know this jewel of a series has not been more widely recognized for its brilliance!

Anyone who enjoyed the movie or show "Serenity" will heartily enjoy the adventures of Captain Cal Carver and his Space Team.

Suspend disbelief, turn down the critical voice in your head and let yourself get lost in the lovable, oh-so-cheesy, entertaining banter provided by Mr. Hutchison and his characters.

Give it a shot and give it a thumbs up for not taking itself too seriously (I'm talking to Alerón Kong here), making us laugh, and still providing a great story.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 19-07-17

Fun lighthearted adventure.

This is the second book in the Space Team series by Barry Hutchison. It's a fun lighthearted space adventure. At times I think it tries a bit too hard to be funny, but overall it's an enjoyable tale.

Phil Thron does a spectacular job narrating the book. I find it hard to believe he only has a handful of titles here on Audible. He sounds like a true profession, as if he's been doing voice for for years, and I hope this is just an indication that he's just getting started on his book narration career and we'll be seeing many more titles from this talented artist.

I received a copy of this audio title for free in exchange for an unbiased review.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DocJim
  • DocJim
  • 25-02-18

Sci-Fi with an unusual character

This is a fast-paced story with a character who seems have a snide remark or a great retort all the time. It is like having the late Robin Williams on the Spaceship "Shatner." I found it great fun, witty, and this part of the story is only the beginning. If you like comedy with your Sci-Fi, you will love this book.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for scott
  • scott
  • 11-07-17

A must read!

So funny and entertaining. I can't wait for book 3. This book is a must read.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bobby Kennedy
  • Bobby Kennedy
  • 03-07-17

Fonking funny!

This one's even funnier than the first one. Really, really looking forward to The Search for Splurt to come out on Audible next. Great series!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer Hurst
  • Jennifer Hurst
  • 01-07-17

Made my fonking day!

This book is right up there with Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett and the narrator is a perfect fit. I'm looking forward to the other books in the series being released in audio form.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Heather North @AudiobookObsession
  • Heather North @AudiobookObsession
  • 12-08-17

Hilarious

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

This book hilarious! I was laughing so hard I cried.

Any additional comments?

I would recommend this for fans of Guardians of the Galaxy and Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy. Smartass and sometimes clueless lead character makes for many funny situations. The narrator does an excellent job of bringing the characters to life. Highly recommend giving this one a listen. I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jason rupe
  • jason rupe
  • 19-04-21

2nd time through. I love this series ❤

why di I need fifteen words. great. 8 words left. this should do it. blech!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for G W.
  • G W.
  • 05-01-21

Each Space Team book becomes my favorite

Amazingly clever adventure, parody and humor all rolled into one series. Barry Hutchison is creating classics. Phil Thron is Audible’s best narrator . Listen to his outtakes at the end of lots of the books in the series! Thank you both for getting me through 2020!!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for david sue
  • david sue
  • 18-07-20

Wonderful Series

What an underrated gem! I binged this whole series in a month, and I wish there were more available! The characters are quirky, and the stories are compelling. I definitely recommend this series to anyone that enjoys light hearted fun.

I received a free copy of this book and am leaving a review of my own accord.

1 person found this helpful