Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

The New York Times best-selling author of Troublemaker and Heartbreaker delivers a heart-pounding and romantic thriller about a woman who must travel back in time to stop a ruthless killer - but can she also protect her heart from the irresistible, dark lover she finds there? 

Is it possible to unravel a convoluted mystery from the past...by living it? 

A scholar specializing in ancient manuscripts, Grace St. John never imagined that a cache of old documents she discovered was the missing link to a lost Celtic treasure. But as soon as she deciphers the legend of the Knights of the Templar - long fabled to hold the key to unlimited power - Grace becomes the target of a ruthless killer bent on abusing the coveted force.

Determined to stop him, Grace needs the help of a warrior bound by duty to uphold the Templar’s secret for all eternity. But to find him, she must go back in time to 14th-century Scotland...and to Black Niall, a fierce man of dark fury and raw, unbridled desire. 

“A romantic time-travel thriller with a fascinating premise” (Publishers Weekly), Son of the Morning is perfect for fans of Pamela Clare and Karen Robards.

©1997 Linda Howington. All rights reserved. (P)2020 Simon & Schuster, Inc. All rights reserved.

What listeners say about Son of the Morning

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Margie U.
  • Margie U.
  • 31-08-20

STICK WITH IT, ONE HOT SCOTSMAN COMING UP !

Natalie Ross' narration wasn't my cup of tea at the beginning, but she grew on me rather quickly once I got into the storyline. I have only recently "discovered" Linda Howard; and, my goodness, am I glad I have! SON OF THE MORNING melds past and present with a plucky, determined heroine in Grace St. John and a lusty, Celtic warrior in The Black Niall. Their scenes together are toe-curling! I found the prologue and the beginning a bit slow and somewhat repetitive in parts of the story regarding facts, but stay with it, you won't regret it at all. This earlier work of Linda Howard shows her excellence in storytelling and setting up character interactions. Grace's flight after a traumatic experience is riveting and downright scary in parts as she cleverly evades the villains. Supportive characters are well done and defined. This one is a definite winner in my book and I know I'll be listening again!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mnax
  • mnax
  • 31-08-20

Fantastic

I have stayed up all night to listen. A really good story and excellent performance.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diva Doll
  • Diva Doll
  • 07-01-21

Not exactly a romance

What can I say? I wish I could say I enjoyed this story. The performance was done very well so that's a plus. The story itself? It was... different and I applaud the author for trying such a different take on the typical time travel romance novel, especially back when she wrote this. I simply wish I had read the reviews before I started listening to the story. Knowing the way I like my romances to flow, I would have skipped this one...in spite of the fact I have pretty much enjoyed everything of Linda Howard's that I've read or listened to, especially Running Wild...a wonderful endearing read and an even better listen!! I simply didn't enjoy this particular book. I really didn't. WARNING!! MAJOR SPOILER ALERT AHEAD! MAJOR SPOILER ALERT AHEAD!! First off, I did appreciate Grace's internal transformation (from a mousy and plain Jane normal type to streetwise and competent) even though it came with such a huge emotional pricetag. The poor woman! Talk about torturing your characters! SHEESH! As for Niall. I couldn't connect to him. There was no change or growth in him. In spite of the uber sexy description of him (6'4", Black hair, powerfully built, protective, and just all around yummy!) He was wooden and not terribly interesting. Plus, he dipped his manparts in the sexual roulette wheel far too often for my tastes. Also, though the sexual chemistry between him and Grace was described, it was very...clinical. Now to the part that just didn't jibe at all with me... If I remember correctly, Grace didn't/couldn't eat for two or more solid weeks following witnessing the murder of her husband and brother. WEEKS!! Nevermind that she would have collapsed in days especially considering all of the running, hiding, exposure to the elements, constant cold, and mental strain she experienced plus no food? But Nevermind. I could suspend my disbelief to a point on this, at least I thought I could. But then, it happened. Somehow, over the course of a month(ish) Grace lost 30+ pounds (because the thought of food made her nauseous so she still couldn't eat or she couldn't eat enough to sustain her body)...and the weight loss made her weak, delicate and hot and men were suddenly flirting with her. A definite plus, right? Especially considering she was overweight, plump, and frumpy at a scale tipping 134 pounds. **Insert MAJOR eyeroll and a thinly controlled desire to scream* Add to that, she and the Hero don't physically meet until more than 1/2 way through the book. Oh, they dream of having sex with each other but there is zero getting to know each other, even in their dreams...unless I missed something. I really REALLY hope I missed something...but I don't think I did. I realized that this story came out in the 90s and for that I enjoyed the 90s ish atmosphere. I also appreciated the focus on Grace's internal transformation (far more than the near constant focus on the external ie: her mousy looks, attitude, and her sinful/sexy/lush/pouty/lust inducing mouth) As for Grace and Niall as a couple? I simply couldn't buy the relationship that sex built. There was no getting to know each other. No little piccadillos. No sweet, non-sex related moments that endeared me to them. Grace and Niall didn't grow together and had no reason to be together other than their mutual focus on the treasure and sex. I didn't thrill at the end of the story. The end of the book was just that...the end of the book. Two stars.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lee
  • Lee
  • 27-12-20

Linda Howard as Awesome as Always

Loved the story. Spent my covid isolation on Dec 26 listening to Natalie Ross(Great Narrator) she is awesome - have listened to many from her. Linda Howard gave me a story that kept captivated from the time started listening to the time Natalie Ross finished. Have read and listened to many books written by Linda Howard, from my favourite Dream Man to now Son of the Morning. At this time when things are tough, thank you for letting me slip away and enjoy a little fantasy. I am and will always be a fan. Thank you

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Carolyn Foster
  • Carolyn Foster
  • 20-11-20

This is not a new title, just marketed to look it

I love Linda Howard. This was a good story idea, flawed by a lack of forward movement. At some point, a writer needs to hear from a good editor. "It's time to get to the main story and stay there". Atmospheric interferences with storyline essentials are apparent to any experienced reader. Unfortunately, people who do not know this writers latter talent might just assume it's all of this caliber. What this uneven telling produces starts as a good romance story with the main characters meeting up in dreams. Sounds great....but the supernatural idea that proved so compelling is eclipsed by the repeated superfluous mundane and that constant disruption makes it difficult to trust the narration.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mary Ann De Barbieri
  • Mary Ann De Barbieri
  • 19-11-20

Terrific book!

I’ve enjoyed many Linda Howard books but never one like this! I love the story and time travel- very exciting! I’d love to read more in this genre.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 21-08-20

My favorite book😍

This will always be one of my favorite book😍 the performance was excellent. Keep adding older books to Audible.