Listen free for 30 days

Sins of the Fathers: The Complete Trilogy

An Epic Fantasy Box Set
Narrated by: Ralph Lister
Series: Sins of the Fathers, Book 1-3
Length: 38 hrs and 21 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (5 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

To stop the end of the world, they must defy a god.

Three epic books in one audio bundle full of dark magic, war, unforgettable characters, and political intrigue.

Long ago, powerful sorcerers stole the power of a god. Only the courage and sacrifice of great heroes stopped them from conquering the known world.

They thought it was over. But the god who was robbed so long ago remained. He swore that long after the heroes were dead, when his power returned, he would have his vengeance on all of humanity.

Now, the time of his prophecy is at hand. A band of elite desert warriors crosses the sea, hoping faith and courage will be enough to turn aside the coming apocalypse. Their leader, Prelate Yazid Valerian, seeks the mythical city of sorcerers.

There, he believes, he will find allies and answers. But the city has been hidden for centuries for a reason. And he never expects that he and his men may spark the very doom they seek to prevent....

Buy this special edition box set to experience a sweeping epic fantasy series with a grim-dark twist, perfect for fans of Steven Erikson's Malazan Book of the Fallen, Game of Thrones, and Joe Abercombie's First Law series.

Included in the Sins of the Father Trilogy:

  1. Dead God's Due (2019 Voice Arts Award Nominee, Earphones Award Winner)
  2. Mad God's Muse
  3. War God's Will
©2019 Matthew P. Gilbert (P)2019 Aethon Books

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantasy Epic

Loved it, great narrator and a truly epic tale with great value for money with this publishers pack.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A deep and complex story

I recieved a review copy of this book. It provides a deep and complex story line that reveals more and more as the book goes on. It is well narrated and my only issue was in the transition between the three original books, great changes occurred with the story that I found hard to follow between them.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Willis Burns
  • Willis Burns
  • 24-01-20

Superb series

I’ve read (and absolutely loved) all three of these books. The narration is so perfect for the mood and feel, no one could have cast it better. Now, with all three in one credit download, I’m not sure there could be a better time to snag it. If you’re on the fence, you kind of can’t go wrong.

The feel of this book is grim dark but in such a unique way. Masterfully written and “real” feeling. I have an eye open for anything new from the author and I’ve already picked up some of Lister’s back catalog he’s that good.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trong N
  • Trong N
  • 06-02-20

Strong start but fizzled out almost immediately

I'm 6 hours into Book 1 of this series (which is the halfway point of Book 1) and even now, I have no idea who the main characters are suppose to be. Maybe the author wanted to do something like Game of Thrones which featured a collection of characters with no main character but unlike George R.R. Martin, who organized his chapters into neat and tidy viewpoint character arc, Matthew Gilbert's chapters are long and the story focus shifts several times between different characters within the same chapter. This constant shifting of focus made it hard for me to try to understand a character's motivation. And if I don't understand his motivation, then I'm not attached to his fate.

So far, the story itself isn't compelling enough for me to continue listening. The most exciting bit happen in the 1 hour prologue. Since then, it's been 5 hours of listening to a bunch of characters I don't care about doing things that moved the story forward inch by slowly inch. The author did a good job with setting up the back stories but c'mon, let's get on with it already!

Luckily. Ralph Lister did a good job with the narration. Which was probably why I kept listening for as long as I did. He has a nice deep voice and it was really easy to understand him as the narrator. However, it was really hard to differentiate which character was speaking because he used the same voice (and the same laugh!) for most of them. With the author tendency to constantly shift focus, it made the story that much harder to follow.

Maybe it's not fair for me to write a review when I haven't even finish Book 1 but there were just too many flaws for me to continue. I gave it a fair shot and if a story still can't hook me by the 6th hour, I have no interest in continuing on with the book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Fnukn Lnukn
  • Fnukn Lnukn
  • 17-02-20

<br />Use of profanity appears excessive

Use of profanity appears excessive in supporting the story line. No more words remaining in this review.