Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £24.99

Buy Now for £24.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

Fans of Robert Jordan and George R. R. Martin alike have found a new champion of epic fantasy in Brandon Sanderson. And now, in the first of two sequels to The Alloy of Law, the Sunday Times and New York Times best-selling author returns to the world of Mistborn. 

It is more than 300 years after the events of the The Final Empire shaped Scadrial. Waxillium Ladrian has returned to the capital city of Elendel from the far-flung roughs. 

Elendel is crisscrossed by canals and railways, and towers reach for the sky, but this is still a city of dangers and of magic; Allomancy and Feruchemy can still change the world. Wax faces many more adventures. 

Sanderson is a master of rich worlds, appealing characters and gripping plots, and his return to Mistborn shows him at the height of his powers.

©2015 Dragonsteel Entertainment, LLC (P)2015 Macmillan Audio

What listeners say about Shadows of Self

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,525
  • 4 Stars
    509
  • 3 Stars
    87
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,557
  • 4 Stars
    289
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,290
  • 4 Stars
    476
  • 3 Stars
    117
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hooked again....

............and the good news is, Book 3, Bands of Mourning, is marked as "Final Draft - 100%" on BS's website. (And, the release date is only 3 months away, which is even better news!)

I must admit to finding the start of this second book in the series a little slow. I always re-listen to the books in a series, before listening to any new addition. I'd remembered enjoying the light-heartedness of the first book, and although Shadows of Self continued in this same tone, somehow this time I found Wayne's nonsense with his hats, and the banter between them just a little bit dull and repetitious....(maybe I was in a boring kind of mood myself). However, then it all got going - and it just took off! Proper nods to the Mistborn characters, and some real depth to these new characters too. And, just for good measure, a really good Sanderson plot twist to keep me hooked and waiting in anticipation for the next instalment! If you're a Mistborn fan, you'll need to add this one to your library too. Narration absolutely consistent with previous book, which is always a relief.

Thank you Brandon Sanderson, for never disappointing me!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sanderson does it again

If you could sum up Shadows of Self in three words, what would they be?

imaginative, unexpectedly brilliant

Any additional comments?

Sanderson has built an incredibly complex world where the laws of physics as we know do not apply to everyone. Brilliant action packed storyline and characters with extraordinary abilities are a standard for Sanderson, but in Shadows of Self he gives them a depth of personality and emotional life that other authors can seldom achieve in such a relatively short space. The fast-paced narrative made me hold my breath and at the same time my heart ached for the personal tragedies each of the characters lives. Definitely one to keep and listen to over and over again.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well worth it!

What made the experience of listening to Shadows of Self the most enjoyable?

Fantastic performance of a great book. Enjoyed from start to finish. Didn't suffer from some of Sandersons extra long back story and kept pace throughout.

What did you like best about this story?

Well polished story and great characters.

Have you listened to any of Michael Kramer’s other performances? How does this one compare?

Yes - compares well. Voice acting is getting better and better.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Wanted to!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

not his strongest book

Would you say that listening to this book was time well-spent? Why or why not?

it was an engaging story that i enjoyed, it was just not up to the high standards of the true mistborn novels, and thus i felt a little let down

Would you recommend Shadows of Self to your friends? Why or why not?

not over many other Sanderson novels, so only to someone who's already a fan

Have you listened to any of Michael Kramer’s other performances? How does this one compare?

yes, and it was performed very well, as ever.

If this book were a film would you go see it?

probably i would, but then i'm a fan of the author - this wouldn't\ be the book of his to make a film of though.

Any additional comments?

i'm not sure what to think of the book, the story itself was good, but i just finished it feeling a bit let down - i also wasn't desperate to get back to the story as i was with others in the series, this one didn't grab me in the same way

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A great mist born novel injected with humour.

What made the experience of listening to Shadows of Self the most enjoyable?

A well narrated novel full of action and the usual mist born wonders in an amazing universe. The characters bring a fun spin on the classic fantasy story. The mechanics of the magic continue to be enthralling but with the introduction of guns, cars and detectives you are now introduced to a new universe which brings new levels of engagement.

What other book might you compare Shadows of Self to, and why?

It's like mist on but with a detective spin.

What three words best describe Michael Kramer’s performance?

Versatile, engaging, excellent

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The 2nd part of the 2nd mist born trilogy.

Would you listen to Shadows of Self again? Why?

Definitely. It plays very well as a progression of the western era of the mistborn series. The story is strong and adds depth to the vivid world that sanderson is creating behind the scenes.

What did you like best about this story?

Sanderson has done an amazing job of making you question who is good and who is bad. The struggle of power and responsibility are evident in the movements of his God.

Sanderson writes religious uncertainty better than the majority of fantasy authors I've read, for a Mormon that is damn impressive.

What about Michael Kramer’s performance did you like?

Kramer is always very varied from character to character, making it clear who's talking without exposition. He also produces the right tone for dramatic moments that draws you very well into the tension.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fantastic Cosmere adventure

Narrators breadth of voices was wonderful again, story was the same kind of roller coaster and I love returning to those Cosmere worlds. I also live the final chapter and can't wait to work out the story that weaves all the novels together!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait for the next part

Another triumph from Brandon Sanders! Expertly read by Michael Kramer. This picks up from alloy of law (though doesn't work as a stand alone). Good to see the return of a favourite from the first mistborn series.

I absolutely love the characters and am looking forward to the next part

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good good

Another good installment of the mistborn series, more good twists and story g g h

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

All good except just feels a little a short.

Great story, just like other books that I have listened to by Brandon Sanderson.

Great performance.

Only thing is that for some reason it feels a bit shorter than the other books, but not necessarily a bad thing.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SarahLouise
  • SarahLouise
  • 05-10-16

Amazing!

Sanderson is a master of his craft. With Kramer's performance the story is given a life of its own.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for C. Massey
  • C. Massey
  • 08-02-16

A great addition to the mistborn universe

I've loved every book in the Mistborn series, and Sanderson's extension to the universe continues to delight. This was well-read, and had just the right amount of suspense and tension to make it almost a noir crime thriller.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MJ A
  • MJ A
  • 09-03-21

Incredible

Better than THE ALLOY OF LAW. SHADOWS OF SELF has so much mentions to the MISTBORN TRILOGY and focuses on the THREE METALLIC ARTS which is so amazing I love this magic system so unique 😊❤️

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michael Yarichuk
  • Michael Yarichuk
  • 28-03-19

Brandon Sanderson delivers a great adventure!

Brandon Sanderson's storytelling skills are amazing. Very quickly he has taken a place among my favorite authors. This book is funny, thoughtful, has interesting mystery, adventure and drama.
Seriously, if you appreciate a good story, you will most likely enjoy this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karl
  • Karl
  • 20-04-16

great book and series. author is awesome!

Brandon Sanderson is an amazing author! every series he writes is unlike anything else. and it makes me unable to choose what series of his is my favourite! in general the cosmere is my favourite!