Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £21.99

Buy Now for £21.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A nest of espionage. A break for the border. A race to survive. An astounding WWII espionage thriller from a modern master of the genre, Sea of Spies is a triumph, perfect for fans of Alan Furst, John le Carré and Robert Harris.

The Allies are desperate to stop neutral Turkey supplying vital materials to the Nazis - materials which could help them win the war. But then a British agent makes a fatal mistake and disappears in Istanbul. In England, detective-turned-spy Richard Prince - back from a clandestine mission in Nazi-occupied Europe - is hunting for his lost son. Before long he is drawn into a dangerous follow-up operation, posing as a journalist in Turkey. The mission soon goes wrong. Out of touch with London and stranded hundreds of miles behind enemy lines, Prince will have to find evidence of the Turks secret trade with the Nazis, as well as a way out. Chances of survival? Low. Chance of completing his mission? Prince will do whatever it takes.

©2020 Alex Gerlis (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Sea of Spies

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    12
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    40
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    37
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Escapism, needing to suspend disbelief

The second in the series, this book stretches believability, but is well worth a listen in spite of that.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Richard Prince Compelling

Loved this second book. Would be a great TV series the setting is well researched.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Dargon's Dragonkeep
  • Dargon's Dragonkeep
  • 17-12-21

fantastic

the breath of detail in the telling of the story of the spy, his adventures, his perils and achievements is quite masterful. Keeping you riveted for each nuance, to see where they lead.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ScottG
  • ScottG
  • 19-11-21

Totally Captivating - like the series

This is the 2nd book in the series, and just as amazing as the first. It is the tale of a British police inspector who turned Spy. In this installment, he is sent behind Nazi lines to obtain intelligence on the Turkish (supposedly a neutral country) government supplying Germany with Chromium, an essential ingredient in armor and stainless steel. The detail takes you along for that ride. It is so good you have a hard time putting it down.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Axel
  • Axel
  • 10-08-21

Excellent WW II spy movel

Good plot. Characters well defined. The “bad” guys are not clownish or cartoonish, as in many novels. Highly recommend to anybody who enjoys this genre.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clifford K.
  • Clifford K.
  • 07-06-21

another satisfying story with a good performance

The author weaves a good tale with some recurring characters interesting historical perspective. if you enjoy a good spy mystery with some historical background and place based settings you'll like this. The audio performance was well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allan
  • Allan
  • 30-05-21

Great listen

Really enjoyed this book. Narrator was excellent. Story never bogged down. Arthur seems to be hitting his groove. Can’t wait to listen to the next one.