Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A nest of espionage. A break for the border. A race to survive. An astounding WWII espionage thriller from a modern master of the genre, Sea of Spies is a triumph, perfect for fans of Alan Furst, John le Carré and Robert Harris.

The Allies are desperate to stop neutral Turkey supplying vital materials to the Nazis - materials which could help them win the war. But then a British agent makes a fatal mistake and disappears in Istanbul. In England, detective-turned-spy Richard Prince - back from a clandestine mission in Nazi-occupied Europe - is hunting for his lost son. Before long he is drawn into a dangerous follow-up operation, posing as a journalist in Turkey. The mission soon goes wrong. Out of touch with London and stranded hundreds of miles behind enemy lines, Prince will have to find evidence of the Turks secret trade with the Nazis, as well as a way out. Chances of survival? Low. Chance of completing his mission? Prince will do whatever it takes.

©2020 Alex Gerlis (P)2021 W F Howes

What listeners say about Sea of Spies

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Richard Prince Compelling

Loved this second book. Would be a great TV series the setting is well researched.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Clifford K.
  • Clifford K.
  • 07-06-21

another satisfying story with a good performance

The author weaves a good tale with some recurring characters interesting historical perspective. if you enjoy a good spy mystery with some historical background and place based settings you'll like this. The audio performance was well done.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allan
  • Allan
  • 30-05-21

Great listen

Really enjoyed this book. Narrator was excellent. Story never bogged down. Arthur seems to be hitting his groove. Can’t wait to listen to the next one.