Regular price: £21.99

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

William de Worde is the accidental editor of Discworld's first newspaper. Now he must cope with the traditional perils of a journalist's life - people who want him dead, a recovering vampire with a suicidal fascination for flash photography, some more people who want him dead in a different way and, worst of all, the man who keeps begging him to publish pictures of his humorously shaped potatoes.William just wants to get to the truth. Unfortunately, everyone else wants to get at William. And it's only the third edition...

This is the 25th volume in the Discworld series.

Please note:This is a vintage recording. The audio quality may not be up to modern day standards

©2000 Terry and Lyn Pratchett (P)2000 Isis Publishing Ltd.

Critic reviews

"Pratchett's brand of humor has intelligence and satiric relevance...he has much to say about the world." (Publishers Weekly)
"Unadulterated fun...Witty, frequently hilarious." (San Francisco Chronicle)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,000
  • 4 Stars
    195
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    6

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    740
  • 4 Stars
    128
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    747
  • 4 Stars
    135
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Martin
  • Cork, Ireland
  • 19-04-08

Pratchett in top form

I am a fan of Terry Pratchett novels and am amazed at how prolific he is while maintaining the quality of his output. This is one of his better recent efforts. Pratchett's books always have one or two inspired comic ideas and this one is no exception. It is worth reading for the vampire photographer with flash-photography issues alone. Well worth a listen if you like quirky humour in the vein of Douglas Adams and Robert Rankin.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In the unlikely event you've never read Pratchett

I wasn't going to review Terry Pratchett's Discworld books, simply because he is such a well known author that everyone already knows that this book, like all the Discworld books, will be funny, imaginative and have everything you want in it to keep you coming back and re-reading year after year. Most Audible listeners also know that all the main narrators that read Pratchett's books (Stephen Briggs, Nigel Planer and Tony Robinson) are all amazing, bringing the book and it's characters to life in a way that earns their five star reviews.

If you are actually a new listener on the other-hand this might really help.

Firstly despite the order they were written in my suggestion would be to start with the guards series. Pratchett has developed a complicated world with several in jokes and this is an easy way to enter it, as the books introduce the reader to the main city from which much of the action takes place. The guards series is arguably one of the most popular and after the first book has a strong cast of both male and female characters. I should warn that some of the other series' books are set before the events in the Watch novels but I still found this the most accessible way, into this vast fictional world.

The order of the guards books are Guards Guards, Men at Arms, Feet Of Clay, Jingo, The Fifth Elephant, Night watch, Thud and Snuff (there are also spin off books that are mentioned in the series). From there you can either start reading the witches novels if you prefer female leads, Rincewind if you prefer male or stay in the city with some of what are often refer to as the `industrial' novels like The Truth, Going Postal and Making Money. Guides to reading order can easily be found on the net if you don't want to go by publication date.

I would also think twice before buying the abridged versions. Tony Robinson as a narrator is brilliant but so are the other narrators and a lot of the plot and humor is cut to fit so much into such a short time. I've listened to most of them and I'd personally go with unabridged every time.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kerry J
  • PETERBOROUGH, United Kingdom
  • 07-04-13

Great Discworld story

Another great story of the discworld. I've read them all, and am working through the audio books during long journeys. Love Pratchett's work and after the older Tony Robinson ones this is my favourite narrator.



The Guards stories are my preference and this is a great one. Would recommend the story to those new to or totally familiar with the Discworld

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael
  • Chatham, United Kingdom
  • 07-04-11

***ing brilliant

Mt Tulip and Mr Pin, The New Firm, Millenium Hand and Shrimp I told 'em! Now my favouite Discworld book.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Michael. R
  • whitehaven, cumbria, United Kingdom
  • 19-04-10

the truth

one of the best books from sir terry pratchett colection of the disk world stories

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Natalia
  • Southampton, United Kingdom
  • 21-03-13

Great read

Good story, read well as always. Besides its criminal detective element, content is also educational about news making in a funny and lighthearted way.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Terry at his best!

I love this novel! Terry introduces William Deworda, and the start of the press in . the usual mix of lord vetinary, the watch and the wizards, trolls and Dwarfs. I love the use of the vampire as an iconographer. it is like coming home to your family, to be able keep up with the chacters as they grow throughout the series. this one of my favorites and I own them all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Andrew
  • Callington, Cornwall, United Kingdom
  • 26-03-18

the truth will make you fret.

First got this book as an abridged audio CD set, but after I started using audible got the full version.

Terry Pratchett's discworld series is on the best group of books I own. Though normally, I am of the stance that "if it isn't vimes, then I won't bother", this changed my mind and opened up the whole series for me.

Loved this book, was a fun ride from start to finish.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely a must listen

Still an outstanding story, it takes on new meaning in 2018's world of fake news

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfectly Pratchett

Stephen Briggs is the perfect narrator. The Truth is classic Pratchett and fills in many details and fleshed out characters, as well as introducing some new and fascinating ones.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rob van Geloven
  • Rob van Geloven
  • 04-01-18

Good story, bad audio quality

Bad audio quality puts a bit of a damper on it all. Stephen Briggs is a good voice actor, but the low audio quality combined with varying levels of volume makes it hard to understand sometimes when driving