We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
The Stars Are Legion Audiobook

The Stars Are Legion

Regular Price:£29.19
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
    • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Somewhere on the outer rim of the universe, a mass of decaying world-ships known as the Legion is traveling in the seams between the stars. For generations, a war for control of the Legion has been waged, with no clear resolution. As worlds continue to die, a desperate plan is put into motion.

Zan wakes with no memory, prisoner of a people who say they are her family. She is told she is their salvation - the only person capable of boarding the Mokshi, a world-ship with the power to leave the Legion. But Zan's new family is not the only one desperate to gain control of the prized ship. Zan finds that she must choose sides in a genocidal campaign that will take her from the edges of the Legion's gravity well to the very belly of the world.

Zan will soon learn that she carries the seeds of the Legion's destruction - and its possible salvation. But can she and her ragtag band of followers survive the horrors of the Legion and its people long enough to deliver it?

In the tradition of The Fall of Hyperion and Dune, The Stars Are Legion is an epic and thrilling tale about tragic love, revenge, and war as imagined by one of the genre's most celebrated new writers.

©2017 Kameron Hurley (P)2017 Tantor

What the Critics Say

"This gripping book is both hard to read and easy to appreciate." ( Publishers Weekly)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (27 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (7)
3 star
 (7)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.0 (25 )
5 star
 (12)
4 star
 (5)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.4 (25 )
5 star
 (13)
4 star
 (9)
3 star
 (3)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Ben L 26/07/2017
    Ben L 26/07/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    3
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    33
    6
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Good story"

    This was a good concept. Took a while to get into but enjoyed the two storylines.

    The narration was a little wooden but not enough to detract from a good story

    I was a little overwhelmed at the beginning but it pays off in the end.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    vivianne carvalho 12/09/2017 Member Since 2017
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    11
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "overall poor"

    poor story line horribly connected. no real answers given about anythinf really. the performance is the only thing good about this audiobook

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Vincent Jeffries
    09/07/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Ohhh... All the Body Fluids"

    Leckie's Ancillary series is a recent favorite of mine, and if you like those books, then there are plot conceits and themes this story has in common with "Ancillary" that you should find interesting. Every character identifies as (and is biologically) female while the protagonist struggles to understand her purpose and identity itself. The fundamental difference between "Legion" and "Ancillary" is the former's throbbing, "organic" universe compared to the "artificial" element to the latter's machine-assisted existential origins.

    The world-sized "ships" in "Legion" and their inhabitants are fleshy things that excrete blood, mucus and feces at the slightest provocation. Why the author chose to slather almost every paragraph with so much bile, intestines and afterbirth is not completely understood by this reader. The important themes and a realistic topography could have been conveyed with less than half the gore.

    It's not that the blood and guts are hard to stomach (which some readers will struggle with) but that the descriptions of puss, cancerous sores and shit are just so repetitive. Perhaps it's necessary constantly be reminded of the relationship between human and ecological bodies as systems through this scaler extrapolation? It certainly caused this reader to think about the relationship between biology, creation and determinism, but that may just be one person's projection? Plus, this is what good story telling can and should do, so while I'm wary of the necessity, there is a purpose being served through the muck.

    The political story and basic plot points are built upon multi-layered betrayals and motivations. This makes the characters interesting, if a bit unlikeable. But the protagonist's journey and development are compelling enough to propel the story.

    There's little science in this fiction and none of the bizarre forces and "technology" at work here are given even a perfunctory hand-waving. Fans of military, hard or even heavily abstracted sci-fi may be disappointed by the fantasy-in-space feel. The word "magic" isn't used, but the monsters and physical forces at work in this universe are deeply fantastical. But genre non-purists, especially those that factor diversity and convention-busting gender explorations should enjoy many of the ideas and characters presented in "Legion".

    I may not be extremely attracted to the ever-increasingly explored themes in "Legion". Yet, to Hurley's credit, the author manages to cut through the tonnage of gore to present ideas that matter with characters that can be cared about.

    Oh, a final audio-only comment about the book; the narration by both performers is excellent. I will look for stories featuring these narrators again.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Amy Jesionowski
    Buffalo, NY
    22/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Excellent!"

    Kameron Hurley has quickly become one of my favorite contemporary authors. Her books are filled with original storylines, strong female characters, and a much-needed feminist perspective in the genre. Hurley has managed an intriguing story and an immense undertaking at world-building so intrinsically enmeshed withing the story there is no separation of the two. I simply can't wait to devour more stories from this author. Thank you, Ms. Hurley!

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Sam
    31/05/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A truly amazing and original book!"

    Kameron Hurley has done it again! Another innovative sff novel that is gripping, emotional, and just plain awesome!

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Yoly
    Miami, FL United States
    28/04/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great story"

    The story is great (and a bit weird at first) and the narrators are just perfect.

    3 of 4 people found this review helpful
  • Michael G Kurilla
    ROCKVILLE, MD, United States
    25/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Parthenogenic amazons in space"

    The Stars Are Legion by Kameron Hurley offers an intriguing slant to a universe operating under different rules. A population of humanoid-like entities, all of which identify as exclusively female (although why sexual identity occurs when there isn't more than one sex is never explained). The entities live on multiple world ships that are quasi-organic and have evolved distinct societies that are competing with one another for either overall control or resources to leave the legion. Two women have a plan for gaining the upper hand (and there really is a hand or arm to gain) over two particularly powerful cliques fighting to gain control of the former out-of-commission flag ship of the force.

    Most of the sci-fi elements involve the massive worldships where everyone lives. The texture of the environment is biological with all sorts of human-like fluids oozing and percolating about. In addition, although there is sexual behaviors, women become pregnant randomly without any specific action on their part. In addition, they birth a variety of things that the world decides it needs (the odd gear or cog for example). The mystery of the tale is that one of two main plotters has lost her memory, ends up being recycled into the ship and reprises a journey from the deepest bowels (literally) back to the surface, collecting an odd collection of misfits along the way. There is constant betrayal, along with lots of battles and fighting, adding to the natural gore of the place. There's the distinct sense that the worldships were envisioned as a metaphor for current society.

    The choice to employ two narrators was a wise decision as the story flips back and forth between the two main characters and their unique perspectives and motivations. Both narrators perform an admirable job with excellent character distinction by each. While the story itself drags a bit (there are so many levels to climb), the pace and mood were nicely aligned.

    2 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Jon
    Minneapolis, MN, United States
    15/02/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastical!"

    I aspire to write this well. All of the visually stimulating details truly compliment the numerous underlying stories.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Marble68
    24/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Different and interesting "

    But two people doing the narration took a while to get used to. Would recommend.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Dan
    United States
    17/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Awful"
    Would you try another book from Kameron Hurley and/or Nicole Poole and Teri Schnaubelt ?

    This will teach me to get an author I've never head of. 2 hours of listening and it just got worse.


    Would you ever listen to anything by Kameron Hurley again?

    No


    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Carl W Fratus
    04/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "interesting ride"

    Interesting world building. the middle is a bit meandering and dosent hold you the same way as the rest.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Zachary T. Elston
    18/10/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Worthy"

    It is a simple story. And Inside is new world that will spark your imagination.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.