Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

In a fracturing empire spread across savage seas, two people find a common cause.

Hope, the lone survivor of a village massacred by the emperor's forces, is secretly trained as a warrior and instrument of vengeance.

Red, an orphan adopted by a notorious matriarch of the criminal underworld, learns to be an expert thief and con artist. Together they will take down an empire.

Perfect for fans of Brent Weeks, Brandon Sanderson and Peter V. Brett, Hope and Red is destined to be the next fantasy blockbuster.

©2016 Jon Skovron (P)2016 Little Brown Book Group

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    47
  • 4 Stars
    24
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    51
  • 4 Stars
    25
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Smug Caricatures in a Clichéd Land

I have to be honest up front and confess that I didn't make it all the way through this one which is unusual for me, especially as plenty of others have clearly enjoyed it so much. It is fast-paced and there is action in it but to me it felt like a cliched world populated by caricatures.

It is more Pirates of the Carribean than Brandon Sanderson that's for sure. Super-skilled characters with incredibly smug outlooks who spend their time pulling crimes off in a neighbourhood where apparently everyone knows everyone else but with no comeback. Pitched fights where characters exchange "witty" dialogue while taking down multiple opponents without exerting themselves.

In short I really do think that the publisher's suggestion that this is perfect for fans of the likes of Brandon Sanderson is stretching credulity just a bit. So it all got a bit much for me and while Skovron is a decent enough narrator for the text overall his character voices felt quite limited.

So, given that I do seem very much in the minority on this one I'll leave this author to those who are more attuned to him and hope they get more out of it than I have.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Employ a professional voice artist.

One of the few books I've given up on. Surely someone better placed in the production process must have realised that Skovron isn't doing his own book any favours.

No idea about story/characters etc as I couldn't stand the drawl long enough to be interested.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

"Sotted"!

Really enjoyed this book. Story, characters, world are all good. Narration was good. 100% recommend.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cheesey

Thoughts when reading this book:

Stilted dialogue.

Cheesey revenge plot

Villain so evil I'm surprised he doesn't laugh all the time.

Narration was ok.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intelligent escapism

Cool and catchy fantasy book for adult readers. Enjoyable language, perfectly narrated. looking forward to the next installment.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

OK, not brilliant

First the good points. Some of the twists and turns of the plot are original; the supporting cast it pretty well drawn, particularly Sadie and Nettles; the narration is generally pretty good, which is a pleasant surprise given that it was narrated by the author.

The bad points:
The voices aren't very good. They are unconvincing and seem have come with a cheesy American accent, which doesn't exist when reading the non-dialogue parts.

A big part of the plot is the usual fantasy affair of someone ordinary finding they have world class skills in something. In this case, it was two people. The Hope character seems to have become an unbeatable swords-woman after only 8 years training in the evening so her skills are less than convincing.

Of the two main characters (Hope and Red), Red is ok, Hope is irritating and their relationship is sufficiently badly written to make me cringe.

The plot generally roles along at a reasonable pace apart from the chase-the-baddy section at the end which gets dragged out for far too long.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Easy listening

Good story. Keeps your attention. Slightly predictable but good entertainment.
I didn't like the narrators voice at first but I got used to it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Chris
  • Leeds, United Kingdom
  • 11-10-16

Excellent Writing and Narration

Any additional comments?

Loved this Audio book. Superb dialogue and storyline. I can't wait for the sequel. When I first heard the narration I was a bit dubious, not a big fan of American narration but Jon Skovron is excellent bringing a real depth to the narration of his own book. More please!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

magical and engaging

a great start to what should be a wonderful saga! A slow character creation leaves you really caring about the people and the towns and engaged til the very end.

Really looking forward to the next one

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Buoyant romp.

Excellent, fast paced, imaginative tale, full of gusto and fun. Read this if you are looking for jolly, raucous escapism.