Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

"I can command storms, summon fire and unmake stone. Animals have nothing interesting to say, and no one can see the future because it has not been written," growled Balfruss. "It's dangerous to meddle with things you don't understand. When you fight magic with magic, nothing is certain."

Balfruss is a battlemage, one of a vanishing breed, sworn to fight and die for a country that fears and despises him.

Vargus is a soldier, and while mages shoot lightning from the walls of his city, he's down in the frontlines getting blood on his blade.

Talandra is a princess and her father's spymaster, but the war may force her to take up a greater responsibility and make the greatest sacrifice of all.

Known for their unpredictable, dangerous power, society has left battlemages untrained and shunned. But when a force unlike anything ever imagined attacks their home, the few remaining magic users must go to war - to save those who fear them most and herald in a new age of peace built upon the corpses of their enemies.

©2015 Stephen Aryan (P)2015 Hachette Audio

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    180
  • 4 Stars
    156
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    219
  • 4 Stars
    110
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    164
  • 4 Stars
    141
  • 3 Stars
    44
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    5
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very gritty magic

Good book, amazing voice actor. Maybe a bit of gore glorification, but I get why. Imparts the brutality of war and magic well.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Had its moments, but a little bland.

Firstly the narration was quite good, a little monotone at times, but didn't detract from the story.

Story was ok, but there was really only a few moments when something actually happened. Instead I had to listen to what I assume is setup for the next book. The problem with this is that only a couple of characters are interesting because they are the only ones really involved in any action.

I just felt like the author had an idea for a good ending and the whole book was just about getting there, with very little happening in between.

13 of 16 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent experience

First chapter was excellent then it lost me for a few but I persevered and the story gathered pace and the last few chapters were very engaging. 4 5 stars rounded up, it would feel petty not to award 5 stars for how much I enjoyed the story come the end of the book.
Have heard many talented voice actors on Audible but this guy's range, ability and depth was for me incredible and the best voice actor I've heard. No-one paid or sponsored me for this review, I just very much enjoyed it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and book

Firstly the narration of this is fantastic Matt Aldis does an amazing job.

This book surpassed my expectations and I completed it in just over two days. The characters are great and what was nice about this book was it had an ending it left the story open obviously it is a trilogy but it left you feeling content.

Too often do you get series of books which end at a cliffhanger leaving you in some cases years with this story it had a great ending.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gods, mages, soldiers and war

A good blend of mad ruler and his sorcerer who want to take over the world, gods in disguise, kings, queens, mages and ordinary soldiers each with their own piece of the story. An enjoyable listen.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Excellent Narrator

An enjoyable listen. I think my enjoyment of the story was enhanced by the narrator.
Not the cleanest story, but I'm willing to forgive a first entry for an author as the ideas were good. Though it does reduce its re-listen value.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great find

really enjoyed this book, both the story and the narration. very quickly got into it and found it difficult to stop listening. looking forward to the next book in the series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great start to a series.

I had this book in my wish list for a little while and was a little unsure to weather i was going to lie it or not. As there was just something i liked about it. Then i saw that audio had book 1 and 2 in the bye 2 books for 1 credit. So i purchased both. Now i have listen to book 1 and i'm very glad that i got both books. This was a very good listen and had everything i love in a good fantasy magic, action, very good battle seems and a good storey line. If you are a fan of authors like brandon sanderson, robert jordan and robin hobb then i think you will enjoy this book to. This was another strong narration and i could listen to matt advis again. So if you were like me and sat on the fence and not sure if you should download this book then just do it you wont regret it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Very long, very good epilogue. The rest - just OK.

Strangely the extremely long epilogue was for me the highlight of this listen. The rest of the book was interesting enough, but could not hold my attention for long periods. Well written but a lot of listening sessions was needed to finish this book.

Narration was great.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

One of the best magic books i've read.

The magic system and intrigue in this book is the best i've seen in any series. Very enjoyable looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nikki Chenard
  • 27-06-16

I hung on every word. . .

As an avid audio book listener and lover of the epic fantasy genre, it's not often I find a gem like this book. Not only was the tale enthralling, but it was well put together, the characters were amazing, and it was action packed, thrilling, with a side of sexy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lawton
  • 17-02-17

Great for fans of Song of Fire and Ice

great story, very compelling and excellent performance. would definitely read again and already have the next book.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Douglas E. Noll
  • 25-11-15

So what?

Is there anything you would change about this book?

Create a point to it all. It is boring because I just don't care about the characters or what happens to them.

Any additional comments?

Long and tedious. Can't recommend.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • G. Bishop
  • 02-10-15

Outstating :)

If you could sum up Battlemage in three words, what would they be?

Magic andddddd Fireball (Clan wars) blah blah blah

What other book might you compare Battlemage to and why?

Don't know

Which scene was your favorite?

The end with the epic battle

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

Lose of friends

Any additional comments?

0 of 21 people found this review helpful