We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
An Echo of Things to Come Audiobook

An Echo of Things to Come: The Licanius Trilogy, Book 2

Regular Price:£38.79
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

The second book in the acclaimed Licanius Trilogy by James Islington.

In the wake of a devastating attack, an amnesty has been declared for all Augurs - finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against the land of Andarra. As the Augur Davian and his new allies hurry north toward the ever-weakening Boundary, however, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

His ally in the Capital, the new Northwarden, contends with assassins and politicians and uncovers a dangerous political secret. Meanwhile, their compatriot Asha begins a secret investigation into the disappearance of the Shadows.

And Caeden races against time to fulfill his treacherous bargain with the Lyth, but as more and more of his memories return, he begins to realize that the two sides in this ancient war may not be as clear-cut as they first seemed....

©2017 James Islington (P)2017 Podium Publishing

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (82 )
5 star
 (57)
4 star
 (19)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.6 (77 )
5 star
 (50)
4 star
 (21)
3 star
 (5)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.8 (77 )
5 star
 (63)
4 star
 (13)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 27/08/2017
    Simon Waterlooville, UK 27/08/2017 Member Since 2017

    A man with a child in his ears - @shutterspin

    HELPFUL VOTES
    3452
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    375
    372
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    541
    15
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "A Genuinely Weighty Tome"

    With The Shadow of What Was Lost James Islington delivered a superb story set in a carefully constructed world of detail and colour. Most of all he gave us an engaging set of characters which for Audiobook listeners were brought to life by Michael Kramer’s excellent narration. In doing all of this he set himself the daunting task of doing it all justice with the remainder of the trilogy. The good news is that with An Echo of Things to Come he has done just that! This really is an excellent effort but to my mind at least it does come with a couple of minor caveats and health warnings.

    The book has a different feel to it. The exuberance of youth is now largely stripped from these characters and they have been aged considerably by their experiences. They seem possibly a little too mature too quickly in some ways. This second book also has a more multi-layered and complex feel to it. For those like me without the greatest of memories a refresher of the story before you start is highly recommended. You can of course re-read the first book but if you haven’t already seen it check out audfans where one of their give-aways is a twenty minute synopsis of the story up until the start of this book read by Michael Kramer. There is also a very useful glossary and map on the author’s website.

    Even with that there is an awful lot to keep track of in this one. So many characters have multiple names which are swapped in and out regularly. Some characters take over other characters and Caeden rebuilds his memories with the story frequently and abruptly flashing between the current time and those memories plus of course with the augurs occasional visions of the future. Producing such a story is a very impressive achievement but, and it may of course just be me, there was a little too much of that complexity going on. I suspect a second reading will tease out a lot of nuances that I missed despite regular rewinds during my first navigation of this book.

    It is genuinely epic fantasy with depth, action and a thorough authenticity. It took maybe more effort from me to get the most out of it than books even in this genre tend to but the investment was most definitely worth it.

    8 of 11 people found this review helpful
  •  
    G. P. Brown 04/09/2017
    G. P. Brown 04/09/2017 Member Since 2014
    HELPFUL VOTES
    20
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    26
    21
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great Traditional Epic Fantasy"
    If you could sum up An Echo of Things to Come in three words, what would they be?

    Super engaging read!


    Who was your favorite character and why?

    It was close between Caeden and Davian but I think Caeden just managed to edge it. Davian is likeable and easy to root for but Caeden is a real enigma and all his POV segments are great.


    Which character – as performed by Michael Kramer – was your favourite?

    It is Michael Kramer! He was great with all the characters!


    Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

    Definitely. James Islington knows how to write an engaging story.


    Any additional comments?

    I'd recommend this series for fans of Brandon Sanderson, Robert Jordan, and X-Men. It has stuff that reminds me of all of those but Islington still manages to keep the world fresh and his story exciting.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  •  
    JXL 13/09/2017
    JXL 13/09/2017 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    2
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    16
    7
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I love this but..."

    wanted to love this book but the poor differentiation between the memory sequence characters really let it down.

    i loved the first book and im psyched for the next but i cant deny that was a weak point.

    ...also if i hear the word wry one more time hahaha

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    jamie 11/09/2017
    jamie 11/09/2017 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    2
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Brilliant book and story line."

    Really good follow 9n from the first book, however I found it difficult to follow at times. Will require a second listen to fully grasp what's going on!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Johann 05/09/2017
    Johann 05/09/2017 Member Since 2016
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "good book, great voice actor"

    feels like almost too much of a build up for a squel but good non the less

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Patricia 01/09/2017
    Patricia 01/09/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    9
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    128
    9
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Unconvincing and too many adjectives"

    Conflicts forced & unconvincing. Too much explaining. Preachy. Repetitive and over done adjectives.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Brandon
    21/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great listen!"

    Great book! It seemed to slow down a little in the middle, but recovered easily. A good addition to the series and a great listen!

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sable
    21/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "loved this book."

    Really like this book. Can't wait for the third one to come out. I hope the author has a happy ending lined up for book three.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Sleepless
    20/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Dude"

    That ending.


    Seriously, that ending.

    No really. That ending is crazy.

    The rest of the book is fantastic too, but man, that ending

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Brandon Lee Murray
    Claremore, OK United States
    20/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing"

    Great listen. A seamless continuation of the first book. Amazing story and narration. Hard to stop.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • Chris
    19/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "woah! :)"

    He did it again! This is equally good or better than the first book. Can't wait for next book. Luckily stormlight achieve book 3 comes out next month! Islington is the only author that can out write Sanderson and Rothfuss!

    1 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Amazon Customer
    19/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great 2nd book in this trilogy"

    One of the best endings from the middle book of a trilogy that I have read in a long time.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Margaret Campbell
    19/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Monumental disappointment"

    19 hours of literary torture and 2 hours of an actual story. The story dragged and dragged. Most time was spent describing Kayden's memories is descriptive details. Details in memories that have no connection to the plot or story. Parts that needed further development failed to receive attention by the author. I predict that the next book would be rushed.

    5 of 5 people found this review helpful
  • Jason
    18/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Great book"

    started this series couldn't get the 2nd book fast enough waiting on the 3rd now if we can get them to hurry up hate not knowing how it ends

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Yvette Jackson
    18/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Amazing and haunting."

    I couldn't put this book down. I reread the first book to refresh my memory and got caught in the wave of the events as they unfolded. He is now one of my favorite writers.

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful
  • Lisa
    18/09/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Best trilogy"

    Amazing trilogy for fantasy fans. Incredibly well written and thoughtful. Hope the next one comes soon!

    0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.