We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
All Systems Red Audiobook

All Systems Red

Regular Price:£13.19
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

All Systems Red is the tense first science fiction adventure novella in Martha Wells' series The Murderbot Diaries. For fans of Westworld, Ex Machina, Ann Leckie's Imperial Raadch series, or Iain M. Banks' Culture novels.

All Systems Red tackles questions of the ethics of sentient robotics. The main character is a deadly security droid that has bucked its restrictive programming and is balanced between contemplative self-discovery and an idle instinct to kill all humans.

In a corporate-dominated spacefaring future, planetary missions must be approved and supplied by the Company. Exploratory teams are accompanied by Company-supplied security androids, for their own safety.

But in a society where contracts are awarded to the lowest bidder, safety isn't a primary concern.

On a distant planet, a team of scientists are conducting surface tests, shadowed by their Company-supplied 'droid - a self-aware SecUnit that has hacked its own governor module, and refers to itself (though never out loud) as "Murderbot."

Scornful of humans, all it really wants is to be left alone long enough to figure out who it is. But when a neighboring mission goes dark, it's up to the scientists and their Murderbot to get to the truth.

©2017 Martha Wells (P)2017 Recorded Books

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.6 (16 )
5 star
 (11)
4 star
 (3)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (14 )
5 star
 (8)
4 star
 (4)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.3 (14 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (8)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    G. P. Brown 21/12/2017
    G. P. Brown 21/12/2017 Member Since 2017
    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    46
    34
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fantastic! "

    Martha Wells's fantastic sci-fi novella All Systems Red was one of my favourite finds of all 2017. It was everything an AI sci-fi story should be and then some! It was thought provoking but also entertaining and engaging.

    The world building and plot were both good but it was the lead character, Murderbot, who stole the show. Murderbot was a great lead character and was very easy to root for. Its mission was to keep the humans on its team safe but that did not mean this socially anxious security android had to like them or want to spend any more time with them than it absolutely had to.

    All in all I loved this novella and will definitely be trying more of Martha Wells books in the future. The only flaw in this whole story was that it was only a novella rather than a full novel. I wanted more of Murderbot and this fascinating world!

    Rating: 5 stars.

    Keven Free was nothing special but he did do an acceptable job with the audio.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Mark Enfield, United Kingdom 03/12/2017
    Mark Enfield, United Kingdom 03/12/2017 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    191
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    104
    102
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    22
    5
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "neat little book- more to come i expect"

    there are two more books coming according to the author whom I emailed. Nice woman. I thought halfway through that it would be more testing for humans if the murderbot was not humanoid. I am a sucker for an android or gynoid, but what about a sentient machine that looks like a mini cooper for instance would we want that to be our friend?

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
Sort by:
  • Reading Tyme
    Santa Cruz, CA USA
    01/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "All Systems Red does not disappoint. "

    All Systems Red is the first Murderbot Diary, the adventures of a cyborg security unit who hacked its governor module, named itself “Murderbot” and promptly got addicted to streaming media.

    This is its account of its adventures trying to keep a group of human scientists alive on a hostile and unknown world without them figuring out it has free will and leaving itself enough time to watch its soaps. The novella is sharp and witty, with a wry sense of humor and a sharp eye for what makes someone sentient and how freedom doesn’t always mean the same thing to different beings.

    Kevin R Free as the narrator does a decent job, but somehow seems to miss the point of Murderbot. Murderbot sounds like a human in its own head, it’s a cyborg, it only pretends to be a robot for the humans. Free has it acting robotic all the time and I thought that made the wry humor a little harder to enjoy. Still it’s a great story with well-rounded characters and I recommend the print and audible versions highly.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  • Michael - Audible
    Newark
    06/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "I LOVE MURDERBOT"

    This book was just what I needed to get my out of a recent listening rut. I had been pouring through longer literary fiction type stuff that was really heady and then I started this on a whim and it was a sheer delight.

    The world-building is immaculate, the plot is solid and well-paced, but most importantly MURDERBOT. S/HE is the man. I'm assuming he's a man because of the narrator's voice, but I think he's just an asexual SEC Unit that is supposed to be a killing machine but just wants to watch movies.

    So relateable. And I just really love how Martha Wells crafts the environment kind of secondarily, you don't even notice that she is describing and explaining details about the world because it all takes a back seat to Murderbot's sardonic, sarcastic observations.

    I had only two issues with this story.

    1. It is too short
    2. The ending is abrupt! It could have been flushed out a lot more, but just kind of cut off.

    Now I'm left hoping for a sequel, hopefully one that has a little more meat, because this stuff is delicious.

    2 of 2 people found this review helpful
  • Maria
    ma, usa
    19/01/18
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Nice short novella, read very pleasantly. "

    I liked the story, even though it's not anything new. It's tightly written, never menages to get boring or redundant. What I like a lot is how it was read: almost dryly, without any voice fluctuations.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • ellen foster
    Vermont
    31/12/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Wonderful choice"

    This is a fabulous, stand alone sci-fi about AI, kind off, including a mystery. The mystery was not that engaging, but the characters carried the story. Very comfortable narrator, a perfect choice for the story. The ending was a surprise. All around great listen. I hope this author has more.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful
  • C@t
    26/11/17
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Very good listen!"

    I really enjoyed this book. Only downside was that it ended too soon, I wish it was longer! I really hope there will be more of Murderbot's adventures to come.

    0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.