Listen free for 30 days

Perfect Death

DI Callanach, Book 3
Narrated by: Robin Laing
Series: DI Callanach, Book 3
Length: 13 hrs and 41 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (475 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Your new addiction starts here: get hooked on the number one best-selling series. Perfect for fans of Karin Slaughter and M. J. Arlidge. 

There's no easy way to die.... 

Unknown to DI Luc Callanach and the newly promoted DCI Ava Turner, a serial killer has Edinburgh firmly in his grip. The killer is taking his victims in the coldest, most calculating way possible - engineering slow and painful deaths by poison, with his victims entirely unaware of the drugs flooding their bloodstream until it's too late. 

But how do you catch a killer who hides in the shadows? A killer whose pleasure comes from watching pain from afar? Faced with their most difficult case yet, Callanach and Turner soon realise they face a seemingly impossible task.... 

©2017 Helen Fields (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic reviews

"Read it in two sittings. I literally had no choice. A fast and enthralling thriller, pitting a new, very human hero against one of the scariest psychos I've yet encountered in crime fiction." (Sunday Times best seller Paul Finch)

"Without doubt, this is one of the best first detective series I have read." (Woman's Way Magazine)

"Genuinely chilling." (Saga Magazine)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    348
  • 4 Stars
    102
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    361
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    304
  • 4 Stars
    103
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Luc Callenach rides again!!!

Absolutely brilliant!
A real white knuckle ride from start to end!
Thank you Helen Fields!!!

YOU MUST LISTEN TO THIS SERIES
Audiblebuddies!!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent. Recommended

Again the closest thing to, er perfection! Accomplished writing, masterful reading a treasure worth savouring

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Vet another great book by Helen Fields.

After thoroughly enjoying books I and 2 in the series, the only thing left to do is start No3. I just hope there are more to follow. This series of a Scottish crime stories is so refreshing against the multitude of American crime stories on TV and books that just don't compare to good quality British writers. Unless you're a fan of the Janky crime writers, of which I am definitely NOT! I may be bias but for me British is best. A true patriot I guess. Rule Britania 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁥󠁮󠁧󠁿

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • jk
  • 29-01-19

Another Great Read !!

What a great series, that was the third book in the lives of Ava Turner and the rest of her colleagues. The story was gripping and the narration is spot on.
I am going to get the fourth one now , brilliant!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Definitely the best one yet

I'm thoroughly enjoying these, so much more since the narrator was changed after the first book.
I loved this one, best yet, really good character development, really glad to see the journalist back again too.
Will be downloading book 4 when I've submitted this.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

PERFECT ENTERTAINMENT!

Part three- and just as thrilling as the first two! Love the complex characters, the burgeoning relationships and strong story lines. Just enough gore but not overly horrific, the storyline shines through. Roll on the fourth!!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Perfect

Love this Perfect series of books. Great characters. Eagerly looking forward to starting the next in series

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Too Patchy And Difficult To Follow

For an old dodderer I have to acknowledge that this DI Callanach tale might be described as a touch over ambitious. I've much enjoyed the two earlier stories but I found Perfect Death hopped between cases and individual elements too much to follow readily. I shall read Books 4 and beyond!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable crime story

I was a little perplexed by the number of characters at the beginning, but this resolved as the story unfolded. The narrator was good with a great variety of accents and tones making the characters easy to distinguish. The storylines kept me engaged, although there were times when I wanted to shout "get backup first". But I guess walking into situations alone is a feature of the genre. Not outstanding, but good enough fodder for taking my mind off the cooking and housework.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great book!

Really loved this book and looking forward to starting the next. Liked the narrater too, and I'm a bit fussy who reads the book so this is a really good point for me.

1 person found this helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maine Knitter
  • Maine Knitter
  • 15-11-19

Book 3 continues a great series

I have read these first three books of the DI Callanach series back-to-back. They are good! I’m glad I discovered this author.

There are two threads in this book and both are very interesting and intriguing. One character uses different names and that was a bit confusing for me at times. Possibly it was because I listened to the audiobook and may have been distracted. Once I got that straightened out things moved along. And DID they move along! Callanach and Ava (now his boss) and their team get involved in suicides, potential suicides, presumed suicides, and, of course, murder. Nonstop action, for sure.

Amidst all that we have Luc’s reunion with his mother which causes its own angst.

The narration was okay. I still think there should be more distinction between characters though.