Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

Offer ends May 1st, 2024 11:59PM GMT. Terms and conditions apply.
£7.99/month after 3 months. Renews automatically.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection - including bestsellers and new releases.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, celeb exclusives, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Outback cover art

Outback

By: Patricia Wolf
Narrated by: Adam Fitzgerald
Get this deal Try for £0.00

Pay £99p/month. After 3 months pay £7.99/month. Renews automatically. See terms for eligibility.

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

Buy Now for £29.99

Buy Now for £29.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

The Complete George Smiley Radio Dramas cover art
Watermelon cover art
The Snow Killer cover art
The Viaduct Killings cover art
He Is Watching You cover art
The Rachel Incident cover art
Broadland cover art
A Nice Place to Die cover art
Trust Me, I'm Dead cover art
Black Valley Farm cover art
The Last Stage cover art
Your Place or Mine? cover art
The Girl in the Grave cover art
Poison Orchids cover art
Finding Love at Hedgehog Hollow cover art
Faceless cover art

Summary

The Number 1 Internationally Bestselling Ebook, perfect for fans of The Dry by Jane Harper.

Longlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award 2023

TWO MISSING BACKPACKERS. ONE VAST OUTBACK.

DS Lucas Walker is on leave in his hometown, Caloodie, taking care of his dying grandmother. When two young German backpackers, Berndt and Rita, vanish from the area, he finds himself unofficially on the case.

But why all the interest from the Federal Police when they have probably just ditched the heat and dust of the outback for the coast? Working in the organised crime unit has opened Walker's eyes to the growing drug trade in Australia's remote interior - and he becomes convinced there is more at play.

As the number of days since the couple's disappearance climbs, Walker is joined by Rita's older sister. A detective herself with Berlin CID, she has flown to Australia - desperate to find her sister.

Their search becomes ever more urgent as temperatures soar. Even if Walker does find the young couple, will it be too late?

This deeply atmospheric thriller is the gripping opening of a new crime series for fans of Cara Hunter and Chris Whitaker.

Longlisted for the CWA New Blood Dagger Award 2023.

©2022 Patricia Wolf (P)2022 Bonnier Books UK

Critic reviews

'Tense, gripping and atmospheric' - CHRIS WHITAKER

'Gripped me from its shocking start' - SARAH YARWOOD-LOVETT

'I highly recommend it' - LYNDA LA PLANTE CBE

More from the same

What listeners say about Outback

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    20
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    239
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    201
  • 4 Stars
    68
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great story

This has a fast and compelling storyline with strong characters, an unusual setting; which makes it even more interesting.
The narration is excellent throughout. I enjoyed it so much that I listened to it over a couple of days. Highly recommended.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent debut!

Very good ,I thoroughly enjoyed it !great storyline ,gripping ,descriptive ,atmospheric , unpredictable excellent narration ,I loved it !

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping

Clever, nail-biting stuff. Excellent narration and an interesting story that really drew me in. Captured the outback very well.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story and characters

A but close to home with my son travelling in this area but a great story with believable characters. Excellent narration and well worth reading.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Story

A great listen that is narrated very well. The outback setting makes it more interesting to imagine and ties well with the Australian narrator.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining!

Tourism, outback, drugs, bars, Detectives, romance, dodgy cops... all packed into this relatively short but highly entertaining novel. Well worth a listen!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

the description of the outback

thoroughly enjoyed this book it was at times quite graphic and towards the end quite tense but a book I enjoyed

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

As if you're down under, from afar.

I must have seemed antisocial when I wore earphones to the shops and the post office- just couldn't press the pause button on this story... I can't wait to listen to the second part in this series!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Loved this book. Perfect balance of action, suspense, peril and potential for romantic involvement. Superb narrator too. Definitely one for your library- you won’t regret.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gripping read

Couldn’t put this book down. Very
well narrated and kept in suspense to to the end.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!