Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £13.79

Buy Now for £13.79

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A hunt for a killer and the item he’s willing to kill for drags secrets from the past out into the light of day. The stakes have never been higher for Kate and Nathan.

When a local man is brutally murdered in his home library, Kate and Nathan are brought in to find the killer. But this was no ordinary library. Filled with books on the occult, it’s clear that they were after something. Something that was not in the library. Something that they’re willing to kill for.  

With the clock ticking, Kate and Nathan must find the killers or the item they were after, before they kill again. 

But as Kate embarks on this latest investigation, her aunt’s killer taunts her from the shadows, threatening to reveal her past to the world. Is he connected to this latest death? 

It seems that the shadowy organization that sanctioned the first the killings, is back, and out for blood...and only Kate and Nathan stand in their way. 

Fans of J D Kirk, L J Ross, David Blake, and Daniel Cole, and fans of True Detective and Seven should enjoy Out of Hand.

©2019, 2020, 2021, 2022 Andrew Dobell (P)2022 Andrew Dobell

What listeners say about Out of Hand: A Chilling British Crime Thriller

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great listen

Had me gripped from the get go! Great writing and great notation. I love this series and would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good police mystery!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Thriller

Julia Eve narration brings the characters to life and is a pleasure to listen to.

Kate & Nathan once more tracking down a sadistic, violent killer. Kate's past is catching up with her. Great humours banter.
It was different take on the crime thriller.
Great characters and fast paced!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great listen - ties up everything

Really enjoyed this and such a great way to wrap up the previous stories in the series. It was different take on the crime thriller genre and I liked that as it gave me a different listening experience.

I have got so involved in Kate's journey over the last week whilst I have binged these books and her journey has been amazing. I want to say more but there are spoilers.

Whilst listening I was wondering how did the narrator get all the different voices and tones. What a skill

I was given a free copy by the narrator but my review is no way influenced by this.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Her past is catching up


Another gory tale in the DCI O'Connell series with Kate & Nathan once more tracking down a sadistic, violent killer. Kate's past is catching up with her. More of the playful and humourous banter that works so well in these books.

The narrator brings the characters to life and is a pleasure to listen to.


I received a free copy of this audiobook at my request and am voluntarily writing an honest and unbiased review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another brilliant listen!

Was really impressed with this book having listened to the previous 2. Would highly recommend. Only negative is that it is not long enough. I wanted more. I loved the characters, the way they are brought to life by the narrator makes this book so much more enjoyable

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nicole
  • Nicole
  • 14-02-22

Great story!

Love it! Great mystery. Love the characters and storyline. I received a free copy and left my honest review