Listen free for 30 days

Once upon a Summer Night

Narrated by: Jane Jacobs
Series: Mists of Fate, Book 3
Length: 9 hrs and 29 mins
Categories: Romance, Historical
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Time, worlds, and hearts collide in this mesmerizing time-travel romance, perfect for fans of Diana Gabaldon.

Colin O'Rourke is expanding Celtic Connections, his matchmaking business, to the UK and Ireland. However, its success is threatened before it opens its doors when a prominent UK gossip columnist publishes a slanderous article about his company. The columnist agrees to retract her column...if he can successfully match her stubbornly single niece.

Eleanor Carberry is content with her life as a London bookshop owner. She has everything she needs - books, tea, and an aunt who is more like a mother. When her aunt asks Ellie to be Celtic Connections' first client, to determine if the company can match everyday people and not just London's wealthiest, Ellie reluctantly agrees.

When Colin and Ellie meet, their connection is undeniable. And though he's drawn to her, Colin knows there's more at stake than his own happiness - as an O'Rourke Protector, he has duties that call him to the past. He knows Ellie could be his future, but her aunt has made it clear that if he doesn't match her with a specific type of man, she'll ensure Celtic Connections' failure. Despite the distance Colin tries to keep, Fate has other plans when Ellie takes an unexpected trip back in time...once upon a summer night.

©2017 Nancy Scanlon (P)2017 Audible, Inc.
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Looking young
  • Looking young
  • 18-08-18

Ok

The story is entertaining but the two don't get together until the last 2 min of the book and then they just kiss. Disappointing after waiting so long for them to come around. I expected more. I am noticing with this writer that her build up is great, it keeps my attention, but the climax is short flat and just does not deliver.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jennifer MacGeorge
  • Jennifer MacGeorge
  • 16-12-18

A little frustrating

The ending was a bit abrupt and frustrating. After so many weeks of resistance, a mere story about a pumpkin brought him to his senses? Where was the epic meeting with the fates he kept challenging, where was the explanation of the whole calling out to no one that she didn’t mean it? It was a fun story and the it was like we ran out of time and failed to connect the dots. Maybe the writing deadline was too intense or something.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ParkerCD
  • ParkerCD
  • 23-07-18

Urrrrrghhh!!! Angst sucks.


In the third book, we have Ellie and Colin’s journey to their HEA. Not a bad story, the writing is also improved. Unfortunately, there’s also a lot dissembling, neither one ever telling the other the truth. So it can be very frustrating.
Nine and a half hours of Colin’s BS, whining, “self sacrificing” angst was enough to make me pull out my hair. When Ellie hauled off, slapped him, called him a coward, I yelled YES! I think I enjoyed it as much a Ellie. Of course it was during the last two hours or so before the story actually moved forward.

There seems to be lot of complaining about the narrator. She’s no Loralie King, but she has a nice voice, reads with personality and emotions appropriate for the scenes. She’s improved with with every book, I’ve enjoyed listening to her.

It seems like, with new authors, the first book is interesting, grabbing our attention, the second book sometimes doesn’t always live up to it’s promise and people may give up on them at this time, but if you’ve gotten to the third book, keep reading because no matter how flawed the writing my be, the story is intriguing and you may as well see how it ends.






1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sportochick's Musings
  • Sportochick's Musings
  • 11-07-20

Entertaining read

This story adds another delightful layer to this time traveling series. Though not as intense as the last one this still has a feeling of close family love and a well thought out storyline.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam
  • Sam
  • 12-04-20

Not as good as the first two

The story had a lot of potential. Not as inspired as the first two. And the ending felt like she had a deadline and had to wrap up the whole story in the last 15 minutes. Very disappointing. Loved the first two. I’m onto the fourth… Wish me luck

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca "Cat" Johnston
  • Rebecca "Cat" Johnston
  • 31-03-20

I'm loving this whole series

The build up is thought out and there are always twists and turns.

However, this one has a brief twist that could have been pulled out longer giving even more insite to the characters and how they act outside of their normal environment.

The HEA conclusion was the weakest yet. I actually thought I might have skipped a head and missed something. The advice that was supposed to be his big a-ha, never addressed his main resistance that he's been concerned about the whole time, in fact no one actually addressed his primary concern.

Too bad, because she usually wraps her stories us nicely- this one felt sudden and forced, like she gave up or was just done writing this story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aly
  • Aly
  • 02-03-20

Great Listen

I have a new favorite author or one of my new favorite authors. great trilogy

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Walla Walla Lady Listener
  • Walla Walla Lady Listener
  • 02-01-20

Enjoyed but ending was abrupt

Well I enjoyed the book but with all the angst all the way through the book, his final decision to succumb to his fate was too abrupt, I found myself raising an eyebrow and thinking “that’s it, no deep meaningful decision”? I was a little taken back but still enjoyed the story.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Diving Blue Bonnet
  • Diving Blue Bonnet
  • 05-08-19

Good clean romance 👍🏻

Once Upon a Summer Night by Nancy Scanlon is the 3rd book in the Mists of Fate series. Colin O’Rourke, CEO of Celtic Connections is looking to expand his company into the UK, but doesn’t plan on falling in love with his first client, book shoppe owner, Eleanor Carberry.

I am thoroughly enjoying this series! The writing is so smart and it just really tugs at my heart.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ellen
  • Ellen
  • 31-07-19

Time travel

Series great story of love and devotion .dates 1400 to present time Scotland. If you like Jane Scanion. Writing the series is a hit.