Try an audiobook on us

Once a King

Narrated by: Polly Edsell
Length: 12 hrs
Regular price: £32.09
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

For 20 years, Channelers - women with a magical ability - have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now, King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can't be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people's fears. 

Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet, when he asks for her help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can't say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he's working so hard to rebuild? 

Erin Summerill returns with a high-stakes fantasy full of romance, magic, and revenge - perfect for fans of Susan Dennard and C. J. Redwine.

©2019 Dreamscape Media, LLC (P)2019 Dreamscape Media, LLC

What members say

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • A. Chapman
  • 27-03-19

Couldn't get past the narrator's voice for Aodren

Very disappointed with the narrator on this one. I liked the 2 previous books, but only made it to chapter 2 on this one because of the narrator's voice for Aodren. She makes him sound like a pompous ass. If she had read the previous 2 books, she would know that that is not his character at all. And she made Leaf sound like an idiot. Very disappointing. I guess I'll have to eventually get around to reading the book if I want to find out what happens.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Lindsey Nelson
  • 21-02-19

Great story, but audio was not

The story was interesting and I enjoyed the narrator. But, there are multiple times where you hear a page turning, or words overlapping.

It’s like someone accidentally sent in the final rough draft and not the final draft.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jessika w.
  • 20-02-19

audio is not great

I liked the story well enough, and the performance is good, but the audio is not. there are parts that play more than one word at the same time, or you can hear another sentence behind what is being read. It's kind of annoying.