Regular price: £19.99

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

Two best friends. One terrible event. 

Abdi Mahal and Noah Sadler have been inseparable since they met. They've stuck together, even when their peers have excluded them. But when a horrifying incident leaves Noah in a coma and fighting for his life, Abdi is too traumatised to say anything about what happened. 

DI Jim Clemo, freshly returned to work after an enforced leave of absence, is tasked to investigate. And against a backdrop of a city where racial tensions are running high, he must determine what really happened to drive two teenage boys into a situation so desperate.   

Everything rests on one of the boys talking.

But one can't talk. 

And one won't.

The international bestselling author of What She Knew and The Perfect Girl returns with a whip-smart DI Jim Clemo crime thriller about buried secrets and how the truth will always hurt. For fans of The Child, The She Was Gone and Close To Home.   

©2017 Gilly Macmillan (P)2017 Little, Brown Book Group

Critic reviews

"A hugely satisfying and thrilling read." (Shari Lapena) 

"A brilliant, edge-of-the-seat thriller written with humanity, warmth and grace. I loved it!" (Saskia Sarginson) 

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kathleen
  • 03-11-17

Great story, suspenseful.

I really liked this book. I read her first book and was very entertained. I was happy to see she had written 2 others, And even happier, I've been enjoying the series of Jim Clemo, DI very much and will be looking forward to experiencing more of Ms. MacMillan's talent in the future.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Marques
  • 20-02-18

Narrator

the narrator did not speak loud enough for listening while walking my dog. This is crucial! Even with the volume at highest setting, I missed a lot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful