Listen free for 30 days

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

What if the person you trust most in the world is lying to you? 

I’d heard of the Baby Caroline case, of course. When a baby is snatched from her mother’s arms, the whole country knows about it. I knew about the parents left lying by the swimming pool, the open window in the nursery. But I never dreamed it had anything to do with me. 

Today, my beautiful daughter turned one. We were unwrapping gifts and blowing out candles when the knock came at the door, and they took my mother away. The police say she’s not really my mother. That she stole me, 30 years ago.

When I visit her, desperate for answers, she looks me in the eye, and says nothing. I can barely breathe. Is my whole life a lie? I have to find out, but the more I learn, the more scared I become. And soon I start to wonder, am I losing my grip on reality, or is my own daughter in terrible danger? 

An absolutely gripping psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, Ruth Ware, and Lisa Jewell. 

©2021 Miranda Smith (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about Not My Mother

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 25-04-21

PERFECT

What else can I say...other one than in my opinion the author did it all as well as did the narrator! Thank you Audible!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for AJ Holmes
  • AJ Holmes
  • 11-04-21

Don't pass this one up!

I'm a fan of Miranda Smith and like her other titles, this one was really good. Marion has led a pretty sheltered life on account of her mother never wanting to travel or go anywhere. Never knowing fully why, Marion was prohibited from participating in school trips, sleep overs, and often wondered why she'd never met any other family members to include her own father. Now, an adult with a child of her own, Marion's life is flipped on its head when her mother is arrested at the birthday party she's put together for her own one-year old daughter, Ava. With so many questions and very few answers, Marion is determined to get to the bottom of everything only, who is she to believe? Will she believe the mother who raised her or the one claiming to be her mother after years of trying to find her after she was kidnapped from her crib at just three months old? The book goes back and forth from past and present. It is told from Marion's present time and Eileen's past. Brace yourselves for a plot-twisting ride as Marion seeks out the truth of the past.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for J. Molnar
  • J. Molnar
  • 12-05-21

Ruined by the ending

Don’t want to give any hints on how it ended but I felt it was ridiculous. Had to put away all sense if reality. The first 3/4 of the book was great and as was the narrator.

2 people found this helpful