We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.co.uk/access.
 >   > 
We Have No Idea Audiobook

We Have No Idea: A Guide to the Unknown Universe

Regular Price:£19.99
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • £7.99/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

'This witty book reveals the humbling vastness of our ignorance about the universe, along with charming insights into what we actually do understand.' (Carlo Rovelli, author of Seven Brief Lessons on Physics and Reality Is Not What It Seems)

Many books explain what we know about the universe. This one, from the hugely popular PhD Comics (50 million readers since 2008), tackles all the weird stuff we haven't figured out yet.

In our small corner of the universe, we know how some matter behaves most of the time and what even less of it looks like, and we have some good guesses about where it all came from. But we really have no clue what's going on.

In fact we don't know what about 95 percent of the universe is made of. So what happens when a cartoonist and a physicist walk into this strange, mostly unknown universe? Jorge Cham and Daniel Whiteson gleefully explore the biggest unknowns, why these things are still mysteries, and what a lot of smart people are doing to figure out the answers (or at least ask the right questions). While they're at it, they helpfully demystify many complicated things we do know about, from quarks and neutrinos to gravitational waves and exploding black holes.

With equal doses of humour and delight, they invite us to see the universe as a vast expanse of mostly uncharted territory that's still ours to explore. This is a book for fans of Brian Cox and What If.

©2017 Daniel Whiteson (P)2017 Penguin Random House Audio

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.5 (8 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (2)
3 star
 (1)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Overall
4.4 (8 )
5 star
 (5)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (2)
2 star
 (0)
1 star
 (0)
Story
4.5 (8 )
5 star
 (6)
4 star
 (1)
3 star
 (0)
2 star
 (1)
1 star
 (0)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    D. Menashy Bushey, London United Kingdom 02/07/2017
    D. Menashy Bushey, London United Kingdom 02/07/2017 Member Since 2012
    HELPFUL VOTES
    117
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    49
    47
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    9
    3
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fun science!"

    I actually listened to this a few weeks ago now, so don't remember loads of details . A fun listen and I'm sure I learned (or was reminded of) loads of cool stuff.
    The authors tried hard to give the audiobook a distinct feel, lots of sound effects etc., presumably to compensate for the lack of the cartoons to be found in the printed edition. To be honest I found these occasionally a bit jarring but I appreciated the effort.
    Overall I think one can never learn too much Physics, so a recommended listen.

    1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.