Listen free for 30 days

Ninja at First Sight: An Origin Story (Knitting in the City)

Knitting in the City
Narrated by: Em Eldridge
Series: Knitting in the City, Book 4.75
Length: 4 hrs and 24 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (14 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

From the USA TODAY best-selling author of Truth or Beard.

What do a cynical former Marine and a sheltered former Olympic contender have in common?

Nothing.

Absolutely nothing.

He has a girlfriend, and she's never been kissed.

He's sullenly sarcastic, and she's earnestly empathetic.

He can't stop thinking about her.

She knows she should keep her distance.

Nevertheless, when opposites attract, the results may be unexpected, but they're also undeniably magnetic.

Ninja at First Sight is a stand-alone, prequel novella (for book five of the Knitting in the City Series, Happily Ever Ninja).

©2016 Penny Reid (P)2016 Penny Reid
What members say
Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    9
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ian
  • Ian
  • 08-03-16

Penny Reid is a Master!

What made the experience of listening to Ninja at First Sight: An Origin Story (Knitting in the City) the most enjoyable?

Honestly, Penny Reid is a master story teller. Contemporary romance is littered with tropes, and that doesn't bother me, but I love that Penny Reid doesn't use them. She always surprises me.

What did you like best about this story?

Favorite moment.
Thinking to myself, 'Oh no, she's about to (Spoiler)' and discovering I was completely wrong.

What does Em Eldridge bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

She's a good narrator. I didn't really notice her to be honest and that's about the highest praise I can give. When the narrator disappears and it's just you and the story.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hope
  • Hope
  • 25-03-16

Unnecessary snippet; a teaser?

Any additional comments?

I am a fan of Penny Reid's, although I prefer her Knitting in the City books to her other books. I was looking forward to reading another episode of that series even though it was a novella. What this turns out to be is a prequel to an upcoming book. I'm not sure why it was published except to be a teaser, or perhaps to bring a bit more income to the author. (I do support authors being able to earn a good living.) However I felt that this short book was really unnecessary. If this backstory is necessary to the upcoming novel, a skillful author will work it in to the story line; if not, leave it on your computer.

I think the best books are written quite tightly; they don't require prologues or epilogues. A good story evokes all kinds of questions in the readers' minds but doesn't have the need to answer every single one, up to the number of children and grandchildren the heroine has, for instance. The best books leave us with lots to think but do complete the essential story arc. Penny Reid writes contemporary romance, a genre which is often sneered at, although romance readers know that the best romances are as good as books in any other genre. That said, we romance readers still deserve the best writing, and many romance authors really do deliver, and Penny Reid is an author who can meet very high standards.

So why does this little novella exist? It's not particularly well-done or interesting. If it's a teaser for an upcoming novel, we shouldn't have to pay for it. If it's essential to that novel, it should be included in that novel. It certainly wasn't worth my time and money.

I also wish, once again, to request that readers for books are chosen more carefully. I think that actors or whomever it is who wants to narrate books should get voice training. Em Eldridge doesn't do a very good job differentiating between different characters; her male voice(s) are not believable. In addition, she has a regional accent which she should work to eradicate. In particular, she substitutes short i's for short e's, i.e. pin instead of pen. She is a somewhat sloppy narrator as well, and it makes the heroine less believable as the intelligent, talented young woman she is supposed to be.

This is a book that lovers of fan fiction might enjoy; for me it was a disappointment.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam
  • Sam
  • 22-10-19

Bad Geography

Great story, love the series. Seriously need to learn the Geography of Iowa. Chicago is a 5 hour drive from Cornell, and Cornell is a 4 hour drive from Ames.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for 🎧Pam Audio-Fanatic🎧
  • 🎧Pam Audio-Fanatic🎧
  • 04-02-19

Fun and Witty!

Ohhh why did I wait so long to listen to this! It was witty and funny and just downright fantastic.
What I love is how Penny can make a serious topic and give it balance with fun and humor.
Greg might just give Cletus a run for his favorite place in my heart. That accent lord be!
The narration in this is 100% the best and I want MORE!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crystal
  • Crystal
  • 16-05-20

this story was not like the others

this story may have been requested by some fans but it was horrible like who talks like this who acts like this the way these characters were acting was like who switched off the IQ no one would remotely find the things these two characters were talking about funny or attractive like stick a screw through your temple I was saying what the whole book should not have been written it was written like penny was written while distracted for sure the book was all over the place and not like the motherly Fiona at all except her honesty and smarts

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LOK
  • LOK
  • 23-03-20

Refreshingly different

I admire Penny’s ability to come up with such different types of personalities in this story. The ones here are certainly different than any other story I have read ever. Especially the male character. Em Eldridge did an absolutely amazing job narrating this and capturing the essence of him with his accent, and intellect. If you are looking for something different, this is it. Not a huge plot in this story, but the mood and personality of the characters is portrayed so well, it’s definitely a treat. So glad I found this author. She is talented in capturing personalities in a way I haven’t come across before. Enjoying this series very much.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Joy Mccormick
  • Joy Mccormick
  • 07-03-20

Great

I loved the story, as far as it went. It has a horribly abrupt ending!!!!! Be prepared to get cut off in what feels like the middle of the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kelly
  • Kelly
  • 19-02-20

I adore this couple.

Ah Greg! How I adore his quick wit, sarcasm and intellect. This origin story of Fiona and Greg is a great novella/quick listen for fans of Fiona and Greg, how they came to be the couple we all love and adore across the rest of the series. It's been a while since I reread Ninja At First Sight, I had forgotten how abrupt the ending was.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for cynthia
  • cynthia
  • 15-02-20

Fun intro

This was a quick glimpse in the beginning of the story if Greg an Fe.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for LoveAmazon
  • LoveAmazon
  • 19-01-20

Perfect Prequel

This story was perfect to help make sense out of story of Greg & Fiona connection. It was tremendously enjoyable & hillarious. Not a necessity book but neither is icecream sunday