Try an audiobook on us

My Plain Jane

Narrated by: Fiona Hardingham
Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
5 out of 5 stars (1 rating)
Regular price: £28.29
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Move over, Charlotte Brontë. The authors of the New York Times best-selling My Lady Jane are back with an irreverent spin on Jane Eyre - a tale of mischief, romance, and supernatural mayhem perfect for fans of The Princess Bride or A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue.

You may think you know the story. Penniless orphan Jane Eyre begins a new life as a governess at Thornfield Hall, where she meets one dark, brooding Mr. Rochester - and, listener, she marries him. Or does she?

Prepare for an adventure of Gothic proportions in this standalone follow-up to My Lady Jane, which was called “an utter delight” (ALA Booklist, starred review), and “an uproarious historical fantasy that’s not to be missed” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

©2018 Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kaleigh
  • 01-07-18

A Delightful Sequel!

I know people have issues with this book, and I did to at first. At first, it was slow and stuck really close to Jane Eyre. But they used that to their advantage. I was stuck on the fact that the romance and Jane were so bad. However, that was the entire point! Then when I realized that at the turn on the book, I loved the book! Charlotte is a girl after my own heart! The ghosts were so interesting and a humorous part of the story! I suggest you give this a chance, do not give up! This is another amazing book!!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Julie
  • 09-07-18

Wonderfully entertaining

This was thoroughly enjoyable. I love Jane Eyre and these authors honor that classic novel by being (mostly) true to the storyline while simultaneously weaving it into another story completely. Both Jane and her friend Charlotte Bronte get swept up in this tale which is loaded with ghosts, murder, revenge, love, friendship, and humor. Lots of humor. As with these authors' previous book, My Lady Jane, you could see major plot points coming but it didn't take away from the fun. A wonderfully entertaining summer read.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • hyper51969
  • 30-07-18

love love love

I just absolutely love the Jane stories. They are so creative,engaging, and funny! I've listened to them over and over. Well done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Brittany
  • 28-02-19

Great read until...

I was invested until the Scooby-Doo quote was made. After that it seemed like the author for Charlotte became bored. But I greatly enjoyed the book before that!! Still a good read just wish that momentum had stayed all the way through.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • naia
  • 28-01-19

I was very disappointed

I went into this book really hoping to enjoy it. I thought the concept sounded cool but in the end I couldn’t even finish it. The book was simply very boring. Like most book it was slow in the beginning so I waited then waited more it never got interesting. Even when stuff started happening I found it hard to care because there was no emotional connection to the carters, I wanted to like them but they all just appeared boring or dumb.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Mary Eve
  • 10-01-19

My Plain Jane

Absolutely love the Jane series! Such fun listening to. When it comes to this particular series, I always choose the Audible version. Why? Because taking a classic as big as JANE EYRE and turning it into something completely different deserves to be listened to as the authors intended it. This is quite the retelling of JANE EYRE and extremely entertaining. Highly creative story. I'm always amazed at an author's ability to make you believe in the most outrageous ideas that sometimes transpire in retellings. Of course, the original JANE EYRE will always be one of my most beloved classics, but this was plain Jane good fun! The narration is so very great and witty. Bring on the next Jane. I look forward to meeting her. Lots of laugh out loud moments.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Amber Holcomb
  • 28-08-18

A Strange Story Made Stranger...and More Fun!

I became acquainted with Jane Eyre (the book and the 2011 movie adaptation) in college, and I enjoyed it...even though Mr. Rochester is the kind of "hero" to get on one's last nerves! It's a compelling and eerily fascinating story.

This retake combines a bit of history (and a lot of absurdity) with scenarios from the famous novel. It's an odd story full of ghosts and misadventures. Despite the danger and deception, this is definitely a lighter retelling with humorous commentary and humorous performances from the narrator.

The narrator does a great job of giving the characters their own personalities and bringing them to (larger than) life. I quite enjoyed the accents for Branwell and Charlotte, and I found this a very fun audiobook to listen to, just like the first title in this series of "Jane" stories.

If you're looking for a wacky approach to a classic that adds some surprises to an already surprising plot, My Plain Jane has you covered! There's not much depth, but there is a hint of romantic sweetness along with the crazy adventure. Perhaps not a favorite for me, but still fun! (And it made me eager to re-watch Jane Eyre.)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jordan
  • 26-08-18

Light Fun Adventure

As a huge fan of My Lady Jane, I didn't hesitate to try this novel and I was not disappointed. This light & funny story of friendship, romance and ghosts, is based VERY loosely on Jane Eyre. The novel effectively and liberally weaves pop culture references and dark humour throughout the story. Although this reading romp was highly enjoyable, especially thanks to the well written characters, It didn't have the same intensity of plot tension, extensive world building and sigh worthy romance that made My Lady Jane a 5 star novel and My Plain Jane a 4 star read in my opinion. The narrator did an amazing job and really immersed the listener in the story and characters!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 22-08-18

clever

The book was so very fun and clever. The breaking of the 4th wall was occasionally done but used in such a way that you find yourself more endeared to the story. A lovely ghost story with love and family sprinkled in and a happy ending (considering what we know to be actually true)

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • maggie
  • 11-08-18

I was enchanted until....

It's such a fun retelling that pokes fun at some of the, well, oddities of the source text. However, the last 90 minutes lost me. You know that way when you're reading bad fanfic and it's just wacky antics and out of character? That happened. The authors found their way back, but it change that it happened.
I'm still going to listen to "My Lady Jane" tho.