Regular price: £18.29

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
OR
In Basket

Summary

The first book in the Rose Simpson mysteries.

When Sir William and Lady Withers invite friends and family to a weekend house party at their country home, Ashgrove House, they are faced with the arrival of both invited and uninvited guests, the consequence of which is murder. Set in 1930, Murder at Ashgrove House is full of intrigue, clues, and red herrings, with nearly everyone having a motive for wishing the victim dead. This is a classic country house murder mystery set during the golden age of crime and will appeal to fans of Agatha Christie and Downton Abbey.

©2014 Margaret Addison (P)2017 Circle of Spears Productions

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • notlad
  • 14-04-18

A real yawner

This book is tedious, frivolous, and frankly boring. I will keep it only as "white noise" to help me sleep. The author's habit of stopping the progress of the book to describe food and clothing is distracting. A real yawner, I disagree with the review that blamed the narrator. I can't imagine that anyone could make it interesting.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Rhonda
  • 09-06-18

good mystery

it was all great loved the plot the narrator it flowed really well hope there are more books

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • bethany
  • 19-04-18

Delightful find! Please record rest of series!

This was a great English country house murder mystery. Loved the descriptions of the gowns, the food, the house and gardens. Plot was good, lots of plausible motives and kept you guessing. Excited to see several books in the series-wish they were available on audible. Fans of Daisy Dalrymple and Her Royal Spyness mysteries will enjoy this.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Yvette
  • 07-04-18

More Margaret Addison please!

This was recorded by a small production company, and I hope that they continue with this series. The mysteries are good, and so is the narrator! Thanks Circle of Spears Productions!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeannette T
  • 26-07-18

Quite convoluted and suspenseful

Characters and plot were well/developed and interesting. I’m looking forward to the future books.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Margarita Romero
  • 09-06-18

wonderful and creative book. highly recommended.

wonderful and creative book. highly recommended. will try more books by this author for sure

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • carina
  • 11-05-18

Horrible Aristocracy

I had to skim through some of the chapters as the voices of the women aristocrats were unbearable. I couldn't stand the character who was murdered, then listened only enough to find out why and who was the murderer. The plot isn't bad, with lots of family secrets, but all of the characters were horrible. Not a fun listen.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Linda Johnson
  • 13-04-18

Cringe-worthy

Stilted dialogue and amateur performance, I forced myself to finish this. Perhaps a different narrator could bring this to life.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful