Listen free for 30 days

Miss Silver Comes to Stay

Narrated by: Diana Bishop
Series: Miss Silver, Book 16
Length: 8 hrs
4.5 out of 5 stars (47 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

When he was 21 James Lessiter told Henrietta Cray that he loved her before all things and so broke Catherine Lee's heart. But James has a side to him that most people do not see. When the engagement is broken off no one is sure why and Rietta refuses to explain. Twenty years later James returns to the village an extremely wealthy man. Rietta is still unmarried and Catherine is a penniless widow living in a cottage on the Lessiter estate. Trouble is inevitable, for Catherine has started to sell some of the valuable contents of the cottage to keep up a lifestyle she cannot afford but James has his suspicions and is looking forward to exposing her. He has always enjoyed seeing someone else suffer whatever the cost. When he is brutally murdered there are all too many people who would benefit from his death but fortunately Miss Silver is ready to investigate.

©1951 Patricia Wentworth (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    30
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

compelling & beautifully read

What did you like most about Miss Silver Comes to Stay?

Miss Silver is so much more interesting & convincing a character than Agatha Christie's Miss Marple, and deserves to be much better known. Patricia Wentworth is excellent at invoking the post-war English village, with all its nuanced relationships. She is delightfully dry and pithy. Miss Silver comes to stay is a great "page turner", I bought it to listen to on my daily commute but found myself bringing the audio inside and continuing to listen every evening.

What other book might you compare Miss Silver Comes to Stay to, and why?

it's in the tradition of Agatha Christie and Ngaio Marsh, or Georgette Heyer's detective stories ... arguably they have narrow range of settings and a limited cast of characters, but are brought to life by taut plotting and excellent writing, with some vivid period detail

Any additional comments?

Diana Bishop's narration is excellent