Listen free for 30 days

  • Mark Steel’s in Town: Series 9 & 10

  • The BBC Radio 4 Comedy Series
  • By: Mark Steel
  • Narrated by: Mark Steel
  • Length: 6 hrs
  • Categories: History

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime


In these two series of the award-winning BBC Radio 4 show, comedian Mark Steel is on the road again, visiting places that have nothing in common but their uniqueness. Along the way, he delves into the history, heritage and culture of each town, before going on to write and perform a bespoke evening of comedy for the local residents.

His first stop is Hastings, where he finds that a lot’s happened since 1066 - including an annual Pirates’ Day. Other destinations on his road trip include King’s Lynn (where he’s thrilled to find a traffic island full of rabbits), Carlisle (notable for its cursing stone and pervasive smell of biscuits) and Aberystwyth (the ‘Athens of Wales’ and home to the Holy Grail).

Plus, he ventures into the Forest of Dean - but manages to make it out alive, and heads across the Med to Malta, where he samples some past izzi and gets caught up in a parade…

Winner of numerous accolades including the 2010 Silver and 2012 Gold Awards for Best Comedy at the Sony Radio Academy Awards and the 2018 BBC Radio Awards Best Comedy Show, this quirky, engaging series is - in the words of the Sony judges - ‘stand-up comedy at its very best’.

Cast and credits

Written and performed by Mark Steel

Additional material by Pete Sinclair

Produced by Carl Cooper

Production co-ordinators: Hayley Sterling and Beverly Tagg

Sound Manager: Jerry Peal

©2020 Mark Steel (P)2020 Random House Audiobooks

What listeners say about Mark Steel’s in Town: Series 9 & 10

Average customer ratings

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.