Listen free for 30 days

Listen with a free trial

One credit a month, good for any title to download and keep.
Unlimited listening to the Plus Catalogue - thousands of select Audible Originals, podcasts and audiobooks.
Exclusive member-only deals.
No commitment - cancel anytime.
Buy Now for £14.39

Buy Now for £14.39

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Summary

A fantastic debut from a hilarious and brilliantly original new voice in women’s fiction. 

Love is for suckers...isn’t it?

My brother’s getting married in a few weeks and asked for help picking a song for his first dance. I suggested Kiss’ ‘Love’s a Slap in the Face’. It didn’t go down well.

When she was a teenager, Zoë Frixos fell in love with Simon Baxter, her best friend and the boy next door. But his family moved to America before she could tell him how she felt and, like a scratched record, she’s never quite moved on. Now, almost 20 years later, Simon is heading back to London, newly single and as charming as ever.

With Simon back in town, Zoë is determined to finally pluck up the courage to tell him how she feels, but as obstacles continue to get in her way Jess, Simon’s perfect ex-girlfriend, Nick, an obnoxious publicist determined to ruin Zoe’s career and family pressure around her brother’s big(ish) fat(ish) Greek wedding - Zoe begins to wonder whether, after all these years, she and Simon just aren’t meant to be.

What if, instead, they’re forever destined to shuffle around their feelings for each other, never quite mastering the steps. Is Zoë right to be sceptical about romance, or is it time she changed her tune?

With a smart, relatable central character and razor-sharp wit, Love Songs for Sceptics is perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane, Lucy Vine and Sophie Kinsella

©2019 Christina Pishiris (P)2019 Simon & Schuster UK

More from the same

What listeners say about Love Songs for Sceptics

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    86
  • 4 Stars
    38
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    92
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    74
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this book!

An engaging and modern book with one of the best narrations I’ve heard so far on audible, really excellently read. I’m a similar age to the main character and I particularly enjoyed how natural and realistic the dialogue and tone of voice was. You get the kind of story you want from this genre, but it’s intelligent, witty and doesn’t rely on the cliches.
Reminded me of early Sophie Kinsella and Ali McNamara but with a 2020 feel and tone. I’ll definitely be seeking out more by both the author and narrator.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!

I absolutely loved this book. A great story and read beautifully. It certainly made my pulse race!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant!

I loved everything about this book. The characters, the plot, the intrigue, the humour. The music references were so clever, even to someone with an embarrassingly limited music knowledge. It was perfectly narrated and I love Christina Piishiris’s style of writing. I’m really disappointed to have finished and am envious of everyone who still has it to look forward to. Enjoy!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Enjoyable but predictable

I did really enjoy this story and it was very well performed, but if you are a seasoned ROM COM reader than the storyline is quite predictable. It didn't put me off though.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

BETTER THAN I ORIGINALLY THOUGHT

I struggled at first. At chapter 12 I thought about not finishing the book as the story was slow but I decided to stick with it & I am happy I did as the story got so much better ~ things happened I didn't expect 🙂

The narrator was slow so I had to speed up the voice plus she sounded like she was reading the news.

I am extremely relieved the writer took responsibility for her Characters taking drugs & showed the consequences were having their stomach pumped.

Pop stars & the music industry were exposed in this book, showing its NOT all glamerous sex, drugs, drinking & clubbing!!!

This is a good debut book for Christina, I felt she drew from her own cultural experiences. I loved the concept that each chapter was the name of a song.

Overall I would recommend this debut book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Really liked it

Great book. Lovely characters, it shows that circumstances and assumptions can build someone in a bad light.
The narration was great as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kept me hooked throughout

Zoe has always loved her best friend Simon and no other man gets a look-in. Does she ever have a chance of that love being returned and if it does, is it the type of love she really wants. Strong characters throughout and a strong storyline that keeps you hooked.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

My first book by this author and I thoroughly enjoyed it! Narration very good too and I especially liked the sound effects of the phone calls - first time I've heard that on an audio book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved it!

I really enjoyed this, it's a very well written story. loved the music tie in as it's something a bit different. characters were great with lots of different elements. will definitely look into more stories from this author

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Very entertaining and well read!

I found the main character easy to like, not that common in this kind of books, and also loved the happy ending.