Listen free for 30 days

Love, Lies and Wedding Cake: The perfect laugh out loud romantic comedy

Narrated by: Katie Villa
Length: 8 hrs and 14 mins
4 out of 5 stars (31 ratings)

£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

Will Faye get her happy-ever-after or will bittersweet secrets ruin the recipe for love? 

Since Faye met her gorgeous Aussie boyfriend Dan, they’ve traveled all over the world to meet in amazing, crazy, and romantic locations. They’ve eaten gateaux in a chateau, chocolate torte in a moonlit port, and even had stolen kisses in a sparkling Christmas market. Neither of them wanted to settle down… until now.  

When Dan asks Faye to marry him and to move to Australia it throws a real spanner in the works. Faye’s daughter Emma needs her here, so moving to the other side of the world - even for a hunk like Dan - simply isn’t an option. Is it?  

Faye’s been down the marriage road before and it ended up with her having Ryan Gosling fantasies while her ex-husband obsessed about the plumbing. Is that what she has to look forward to? Is she ready to end her adventure? And even if she is, how can she be sure Dan is the right man for her? 

A delicious romantic comedy about secrets, second chances and following your heart. Perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Jill Mansell, and Sophie Kinsella. 

©2018 Sue Watson (P)2018 Bookouture

Critic reviews

"This book had me in hysterics, but the storyline also made me stop and think about the choices we make in life… Absolutely brilliant. If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would, it's worthy of millions more." (The Writing Garnet, 5 stars)

"Oh my gosh you guys, this book had me literally laughing out loud during the first chapter! Before long I had tears streaming down my face, it was THAT funny." (Novel Gossip, 5 stars)  

"If you want a book to make you laugh you’re a*se off and cheer you up then Sue Watson needs to be top of your list!" (Best Crime Books And More)

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Review<br />Review

Started off OK but bit mundane and not very exciting although had to keep reading to find out what happens at the end. Good narration.




  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A bit too sugary

Rather too smooth to have much of a reality base. A good yarn I guess as long as you don’t mind “fluffy”. Narrator very good.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Definitely didn't laugh out loud.

Kit was an easy listen, pleasant story. I didn't find it funny , far less "laugh out loud". But light hearted.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Lighthearted lovely story

After listening to a thriller this was a lovely story which could have had so many endings

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Sorry

Couldn’t get in to it. A book needs to grab me in the first few chapters

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SM
  • SM
  • 04-06-19

Lead is the pits

I have never disliked a female lead in a novel ever in my life. Although the author wants you to see this individual as a feminist, the way she is so full of immaturity and constant imprinting of her feelings on other women is MADDENING. I am reconvening an injury and therefore had the time to listen to the whole book. However, if I had had anything else going on in my life...I would have quit this book. It was not good.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa Rose
  • Melissa Rose
  • 07-10-19

Not perfect, but I still found myself smiling

Hmmm, I have complicated feelings about this book. To be honest, I almost gave up a quarter of the way through. Personally, I felt that Faye, the main character, was bitter, immature, narcissistic, and incredibly selfish in the beginning. Additionally, I strongly disliked Faye’s granddaughter, Rosie, who was overly precocious and behaved in a way that no toddler would. These two characters made the first part of the story a touch stressful and unpleasant to read. Perhaps the fact that I hadn’t read the first instalment of this series contributed to my initial lack of connection with the characters.

Nevertheless, after pushing through, the narrative did pick up halfway through, and I found myself starting to enjoy the idyllic Australian setting as well as the relationship between Faye and Dan.

I struggled to rate this novel; if you'd asked me at the start, I would’ve given this book a one-star review. However, now that I've finished this book, I believe that I'd give the book three stars; it wasn't perfect, but there were still key moments where I found myself smiling. Maybe, I will now go back and read “Love, Lies and Lemon Cake” to see how Dan and Faye's story all began.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lynn
  • Lynn
  • 02-04-19

Too sweet and didn't make me laugh at all

Something is missing from this book, perhaps a touch of earthiness. It was just too sweet for my taste. The narrator has a lovely voice...easy on the ear. I think the plot has too little com and too much Rom.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 11-03-19

Cute, Romantic Comedy!

I have previously read another of this author's books, which was suspenseful. I thought this book was similar. However, this book is a romantic comedy at heart. I found myself laughing out loud at various points. if you are looking for a fun, easy read, this is a good choice.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Crash
  • Crash
  • 22-01-19

Not bad

There is parts where it rambles and is so heavy on the foreshadowing that I found myself wanting to tell the main character to shut up. Rambling is part of her character but it gets a bit much when he inner thoughts do the same.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rebecca Hanson
  • Rebecca Hanson
  • 13-11-18

this is not a comedy.

Although it was a decent story line it definitely was not a comedy. The main character might have done a few funny things, but I found the story to be very emotional with a happy ending

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melissa
  • Melissa
  • 26-05-18

Not perfect, but I still found myself smiling

Hmmm, I have complicated feelings about this book. To be honest, I almost gave up a quarter of the way through. Personally, I felt that Faye, the main character, was bitter, immature, narcissistic, and incredibly selfish in the beginning. Additionally, I strongly disliked Faye’s granddaughter, Rosie, who was overly precocious and behaved in a way that no toddler would. These two characters made the first part of the story a touch stressful and unpleasant to listen to. Perhaps the fact that I hadn’t read the first installment of this series contributed to my initial lack of connection with the characters.

Nevertheless, after pushing through, the narrative did pick up halfway through, and I found myself starting to enjoy the idyllic Australian setting as well as the relationship between Faye and Dan.

I struggled to rate this novel; if you'd asked me at the start, I would’ve given this book a one-star review. However, now that I've finished this book, I believe that I'd give the book three stars; it wasn't perfect, but there were still key moments where I found myself smiling. Maybe, I will now go back and read “Love, Lies and Lemon Cake” to see how Dan and Faye's story all began.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Rosemarie
  • Rosemarie
  • 02-05-19

Enjoyed the Story

I liked the story but would never have Faith as a friend. She seems so self absorbed and self centered. Who knew the man would be the considerate one. Once again, Sue Watson made me laugh out loud, which is nice. Ms. Watson seems to be a never fail author. I rarely read female authors, but she is my exception. Good read.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful