Try an audiobook on us

Little Sister

Narrated by: Imogen Church
Length: 11 hrs and 48 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (88 ratings)
£7.99/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime

Summary

A compelling, dark and twisty psychological thriller that asks the question: if you can't trust your sister, then who can you trust? Perfect for fans of Adele Parks, C. L. Taylor and Amanda Prowse.

A missing child. A broken mother. A sister who doesn't remember a thing.

After 16 years apart, sisters Jessica and Emily are reunited. With the past now behind them, the warmth they once shared quickly returns, and before long Jess has moved into Emily's comfortable island home. Life couldn't be better. But when baby Daisy disappears while in Jess' care, the perfect life Emily has so carefully built starts to fall apart. Was Emily right to trust her sister after everything that happened before?

Read by Imogen Church.

©2017 Isabel Ashdown (P)2017 Isis Publishing Ltd

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    52
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    5
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    56
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    45
  • 4 Stars
    19
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Dire, absolutely dire.

Would you try another book written by Isabel Ashdown or narrated by Imogen Church?

I adore Imogen' s narration and will often take a gamble with a book if she is reading, but even she couldn't save this navel gazing tedium.

Has Little Sister put you off other books in this genre?

No, it's still my favourite genre.

What does Imogen Church bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you had only read the book?

She brings the characters alive.

What character would you cut from Little Sister?

All off them except the baby, and that's only because she couldn't speak.

Any additional comments?

Give this one a miss if you want a new take on a well used premise, plausible storyline and characters you can actually care about. The references to and particularly treatment of mental health was shameful.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Little Sister

I really struggled to get into this book and even rewound the first couple of chapters to make another attempt. In the end I only made it to Chapter 10 and even that was difficult. The characters all seem rather poorly constructed and quite frankly, annoying.

The narrator, Imogen Church attempts to put some emotion into proceedings, but her voice seems strained and odd to me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great story

Very well paced. I enjoyed the different points of view laid bare in the unfolding story, the way the secrets gradually unfold. Best of all the way the narration brought it all to life. The subtle differences in the tones of the different personages. You'd hardly believe it was just one narrator ! Very professional and committed. Thank you to all involved .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Emma
  • hereford, United Kingdom
  • 18-08-17

another OK psychological thriller

this book is OK but again the reviews I feel exaggerate how good the book is .
very little tension and one dimensional characters

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Family lies

l enjoyed this book with it's little twist and turn. The reader was absolutely fantastic

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Brilliant

Love this narrator, thank you Imogen Church, my favourite narrator, you really bring the story you read to life thank you 5 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟 i,m always looking for books narrated by Imogen Church ☺

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written

An excellent portrayal of what jealousy can cause especially between siblings. A gripping story of love and hate.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great thriller with a good twist

I really enjoyed this book and it was great as an audio book. Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Oh but revenge is so sweet or is it?

Wow! What a book this was. Full of drama and secrets. It’s a thriller and a drama of the best performed in only the way the narator can. I won’t spoil it with a long review but I’d recommed this to anyone that loves a ps7chological drama with secrets but beware, first impressions can be ceceiving.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful