Regular price: £23.49

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – choose any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • Free, unlimited access to Audio Shows
  • After your trial, Audible is just £7.99/month
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Basket

Summary

A perfect family hiding disturbing secrets. A killer who wants the truth to be told. A little girl in terrible danger.

A teacher goes missing under suspicious circumstances and a man is murdered at a local reservoir. For Detective Robyn Carter, there's no obvious link between the cases. But as she starts to delve into them, her investigations lead her to Abigail, perfect wife and mother to beautiful little Izzy. What was Abigail's connection to the victims? And why is she receiving threatening messages from an anonymous number?

But as Robyn starts to inch closer to finding the killer, Izzy is abducted. Unless Robyn gets to the twisted individual in time, a little girl will die.

Gripping, fast paced and nail-bitingly tense, this serial killer thriller will chill you to the bone. Perfect for fans of MJ Arlidge and Angela Marsons. Discover Carol Wyer's new series today.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What members say

Average customer ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    69
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    21
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    10

Performance

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    43
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    25
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    20

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    71
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    8
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Painfully narrated

Liked the story & was looking forward to to finding a new series to listen to, however I found the narrator painful to listen to & it spoilt my enjoyment of the book

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story but totally ruined by the narration

So sad for this author - narration was a disaster, Amelia sounded like a young Lady Bracknell & Jackson a sulky schoolboy & PLEASE Audible stop the current rot of turning the indefinite article 'a' into 'ay' - ay hay cart ???

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

and narrator

love the story but will mot be nuying another the narrator was terrible..it a pity..but i just could not listen to get droning on.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Not for me!

Too predictable for me I'm afraid and the narration was just strange, over emphasised and like a book read by Eliza from My Fair Lady...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars

Robotic Narration

I am still trying to listen to this book but the narrator is so monotonous and robotic that I may have to revert to the written word instead. That is the only reason I have given it three stars.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great plot but narrator spoilt it for me.

Poor narration which sounded very stilted at times. Great storyline though. Kept me guessing till the end.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Terrible narrator

It was hard to tell if this story was good or not, the narrator was so bad I was relieved when it finished. Shame for the author, I checked and all subsequent books are by the same narrator so I'll be giving them a miss.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Margaret
  • Hinckley, United Kingdom
  • 02-08-18

Good Story, spoiled by narration

I have to agree with other listeners, the narration was robotic and lacked expression, disappointing

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Repeat repeat

Normally I loves these books but one thing kept popping up v near each other was the use of the same phrasing and the use of the same word which did tire after a while. But other then that it was the same good book from her she just needs some new things to write to keep it interesting.



  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars

Awful reader

Sorry gave up listening ...awful reader could not tolerate the voice.
stopped after 3rd chapter.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • S. Klinger
  • 11-07-17

Disturbing subject matter

I had to stop listening. Be warned this is about a child molester. It was just too disturbing to continue listening to.

119 of 124 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jeanie
  • 16-07-17

Kept me listening for hours.

The reason for the 4 star overall review is because I think the listeners can do without the disgusting details given during the child molestation. That's too far in my book. That aside it was an amazing book.

41 of 43 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Christine A Saunders
  • 09-08-17

Laborious story and less than stellar narration

I don't often write a bad review but we all know that a good narration can make a bad book better. Unfortunately, in this case, we have a poor narration making a mediocre and rather implausible story, well, mediocre. I really struggled with Emma Wyman's high pitch delivery, unusual intonation and unconvincing character voices hard to listen to, and the story felt improbable and laboured.

44 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Lindabing
  • 02-08-17

Little Girl Lost

I tried very hard to like this book but wasn't successful. The narrator had an accent that was irritating and she seemed as bored and detached as I was. I was disappointed with the story line as well. After 2 dreadful chapters I had to shut it off to save my sanity. There was NOTHING going on except her voice going on and on and on

32 of 34 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Alice Reyns
  • 29-03-17

Very intriguing

this book held my interest and I swore I knew what was going to happen and it did not happen the way I thought at all. Great book.
Con: it was graphic as someone who has been abused I felt it very difficult to get through the beginning. I didn't read the synopsis I just put it on to keep me company on a long road trip. I did enjoy the book though.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Patricia A. Jones
  • 18-03-17

Best Mystery I Have Read in a While

This story was really good. I read/ listen to a lot of suspense and mystery books and this one really kept me on my toes, trying to figure out who the killer was. I usually figure it out very quickly but this one kept me guessing almost until the end, when the author revealed it. i liked the protagonist, Robin because she was not one of the female cops ususally portrayed in books and movies as super tough and sarcastic with a chip on their shoulder. I will definitely look forward to the next book in the series!

19 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Lynne F
  • 23-07-17

Spoiled by narration

This is a well plotted novel - no real mystery, it's takes very little time to determine who is the culprit - but storylines are woven together well. However, I will not continue with this series as the narration is too stilted and wooden - which spoiled the book for me.

43 of 47 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Cathy J Hunter
  • 14-04-17

Annoying Self flogging character

Very interesting twist on murder mystery. Was a little bit hard to keep up with characters and their names. The character that I dislike the most was the baby's mother-not quite sure about her name is now-continually whined about it was all her fault and she was so sorry sorry sorry sorry. That got a little annoying. Otherwise like the detective and liked her relationship with her cousin.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Lia
  • 01-11-17

Repetitive And Predicable

The reviews and premise of the book were interesting.
The guessing and suspecting everyone were OK. But the story way too long, 8 hours max would have been appropriate. There was over and over again reiteration. I actually skipped from paragraph 33 to 63 and did not miss out on the story line. The narrator was extremely annoying particularly while portraying the hysterical mother.
The child abuse was a bit too gratuitous in it's description, in my opinion -not a good thing these days. Too bad, the book could have been so much better without the rambling, the clues not being connected by the detective or mother and the lack of imbuing feelings for the main characters.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Christine M.
  • 13-06-17

Well worth a listen.

Would you listen to Little Girl Lost again? Why?

There were multiple twists and turns that require one's attention. The narrator has a pleasant voice.

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Long before the end of the story, you knew who was responsible for the mayhem, but I kept listening in order to find out how it all ended.

Which scene was your favorite?

Don't want to spoil it for others.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

The consequences of sexual abuse are far-reaching.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful