Listen free for 30 days

Listen with offer

  • Last Man Standing

  • Earthburst, Book 1
  • By: Craig A. Falconer
  • Narrated by: Scott Aiello
  • Length: 11 hrs and 4 mins
  • 4.2 out of 5 stars (64 ratings)

$0.00 for first 30 days

Thousands of incredible audiobooks and podcasts to take wherever you go.
Immerse yourself in a world of storytelling with the Plus Catalogue - unlimited listening to thousands of select audiobooks, podcasts and Audible Originals.
£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.
Last Man Standing cover art

Last Man Standing

By: Craig A. Falconer
Narrated by: Scott Aiello
Try for £0.00

£7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically.

Buy Now for £20.99

Buy Now for £20.99

Pay using card ending in
By completing your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and authorise Audible to charge your designated card or any other card on file. Please see our Privacy Notice, Cookies Notice and Interest-based Ads Notice.

Listeners also enjoyed...

Convergence cover art
Ryan's Gambit cover art
Not Alone: First Encounter cover art
Quantum Radio cover art
Not Alone: The Evolution Trilogy cover art
The Other Place cover art
Lost in Time cover art
From Beyond cover art
Final Days cover art
Extinction Series: The Complete Collection cover art
Outland cover art
Lost Contact cover art
The Extinction Trials cover art
Letters from Hell cover art
Space Junk cover art
Slip Runner cover art

Summary

A pulsating sci-fi thriller from the author of the global blockbuster Not Alone—perfect for fans of Andy Weir and A.G. Riddle.

I wasn’t supposed to survive.

The station has been hit. Everyone around me is dead.

I have 11 hours of life support left and no way of contacting Earth.

I’m alone. I’m stranded. I’m desperate.

But I’m alive.

The more of the station I explore, the surer I get that this was no accident. Someone did this, and I don't think they're finished yet.

Making it home feels like an impossible task, but I'm not just fighting for my own life.

I have to protect my family—whatever it takes.

And as long as I’m breathing, this isn't over.

Because whoever did this almost pulled it off...but they made one big mistake: They left the wrong man standing....

©2022 Craig A. Falconer (P)2022 Recorded Books

Love Books? You'll Love Audible.

Transform your day

Transform your day

Replace endless scrolling with endless listening. Chores can be fun.

Listen everywhere

Listen everywhere

You can’t turn pages while you drive—but you can press play.

Carry your entire Library

Carry your entire Library

Your stories go where you go. Audiobooks don’t weigh a thing.

Listen and learn

Listen and learn

Discover stories that can change your mind, your well-being, and your life.

Reach your reading goals

Reach your reading goals

Download titles to listen offline, wherever you are in the world.

Find your niche

Find your niche

WIth thousands of titles to explore, there’s something for everyone.

Try for £0.00 £7.99/month after 30 days. Renews automatically. See here for eligibility.

What listeners say about Last Man Standing

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    20
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    28
  • 4 Stars
    21
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant story...

the writing is amazing along with the story..the narrator does an eveptional job and I will continue the series for definite...
I highly reccomend OLD MANS WAR...

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A heck of a ride!

I’ve had this in my library for a while and just got around to listening to it. What a story! I’m a big Falconer fan and this didn’t disappoint. Went straight to book 2 once this was finished!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Epic start!

So good, this series has true potential to be brilliant. Really enjoyed it and on to the next.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, tho with a few rocky patches

Interesting idea, and a v good narration. A few "surprises" are rather telegraphed but still an enjoyable yarn. There are a couple of odd changes in the quality of the recording like if they were edited in later using a different sound setup.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Overly aggressive narration

I was disappointed with this audio book and Sott Aiello. In much of the narration there is overemphasis on parts of the story that should have far more subtle tones. The story itself had promise but for me was ruined by the narration.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome

I have never been a fan of a single authored protagonist, but this book changed my mind. it was brilliantly written, taking into account the messiness involved when under pressure , the flashback memory that built the person, I could go on and on. Craig did a fantastic job and obviously not discounting Scott the narrator, what a brilliant book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Die Hard in space

Brilliantly written this book kept me on edge from the first paragraph. Perfectly narrated by, in my opinion, the most talented voice actor on Audible, Scott Aiello, this book is heartstoppingly gripping. Unfortunately I now have to buy the consecutive books to assure Ray-Ray is indeed okay and that he saves the world. Get. This. Book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

It’s just not very clever

I will not be reading further in this series. The plot was great and had great potential but the lack of character development (not that there were many) and the descent into triviality when faced with world ending issues just got right on my Nelly. The reader was good but came across as flippant and did not deliver the gravitas I thought would be required. I love humour in a dire situation but in this case it just didn’t come across well. Sorry but not for me.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cliff Hanger ending

Started slowly , but the pace quickened and soon we were going from crisis to crisis with Houston

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Odd

So here's a guy working on a space station and he emerges from his laboratory to find everybody is dead, not only that but he sees out of the viewport that the entire surface of the earth has been decimated, billions dead including (as far as he's aware) his wife and small child and yet the chirpy narrator is telling the story as if he discribing a pleasent day out. He doesn't convey any sort of horror, grief, panic or dispair as you might expect under such circumstances. Odd.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful